Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
i drained and rinsed the beans and just added a little water to make up for it (about a quarter cup). also subbed celery for mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I made my own beans (15 oz can = 1.5 cup) and used frozen corn. To compensate for the liquid I added 3 cups of broth. I cooked an extra 20 min uncovered (while the corn bread was cooking ;) ) and the consistency came out perfectly. However both hubbie and I found it bland - I would double the spices next time and add some heat. Hubbie likes to add a dash of vinegar too, says it brings out the flavour more. But definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I left out the carrots, green pepper, mushroom and corn due to picky eaters. just added an extra can of black bean instead. also drained and rinsed all the beans as the bean juice in the can seems really gross to me. added 1.5 cups water instead. turned out really great and flavorful. put cheese on top. really cheap and healthy, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco Lizana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Was very god. All it needed was celery...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I didn't follow this exactly but it was a good starting point. I cut back on the chili powder a little and added a couple jalapenos, and added a bottle of Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout and a bit of salt. After putting in the basil, oregano and cumin it seemed to be a little bitter (mostly because of the cumin I think) so I added a little brown sugar to sweeten it up. Tossed in a couple bay leaves and let it simmer a while. The result was very spicy but quite good. I used this recipe to experiment with instead of some other fine looking recipes on this site mostly because I didn't want to use "fake meat" I don't think a bean based dish needs that if done right. A good recipe that seems practical to add your own twist to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
this is excellent....made a huge batch for my husbands lunch during the week..He loved it thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My first attempt at chili and this turned out wonderful. I used 3 tablespoons of chili powder, and instead of mushrooms, I used celery. Awesome taste, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Great! Threw it all in a crockpot and cooked it 9 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Renz Cummings

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This chili was excellent, and got rave reviews from everyone who tried it. The only thing I did differently was to drain and rinse the beans, and then add chicken stock (to reduce the sodium, which would have been upwards of 5,000mg). I would also like to note that the recipe as is created about eight servings (which fed six people), so take that into consideration when planning your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Good recipe. Agree with other's substitution of zucchini for the carrots. Not quite hot enough for my taste, will probably add more chili next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States