Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Surprisingly delicious, though I modified some things to make it a little healthier and to add more taste. I used an extra clove of garlic and cut the chili powder in half (was still too spicy for my little one and hubby-to-be... I think the type I have is overly spicy, so will cut it down further next time). I used a can of 'no salt added' diced tomatoes instead of the whole variety. For both the dark red kidney beans and black beans I also used 'no salt added' versions. I rinsed all the beans and used two cups of liquid to make up for it (one cup each of water and Clamato). I chose to use canned corn that had a third less salt than the average brand. I was out of basil so I used thyme, as well as two heaping teaspoons of brown sugar, quarter teaspoon of cinnamon and two bay leaves. This does make alot, so I froze a little more than half of it. You can easily add some ground meat of any sort if you want. Many reviewers mentioned using zucchini in this and I will definitely try that next time. Great served with buttery cornbread (the non-sweet kind!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was terrific!!! I changed it up a bit... added celery and drained and rinsed the beans added some veggie stock to replace the water. It was tasty and very filling. Great recipe that you can really make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This SOUP was delicious! I didn't really get a "chili" flavor, even though I added way more chili powder and cumin than the recipe called for (and I also added some table salt, Lawry's seasoned salt, black pepper, onion powder and adobo seasoning in addition to the seasoning listed in the recipe). However, once I started thinking of it as more of a vegetable soup than a chili dish, I LOVED it! I rinsed the beans, and replaced the liquid that I drained with water (about two cups for 3 cans of beans). I also used two 14oz cans of diced tomatoes, undrained, instead of one 28oz can of whole tomatoes. I added zucchini, and about half a cup more of every other veggie (carrots, peppers, etc) and we really enjoyed it. I left off one star because it didn't come off as a chili dish to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
4 stars as-is, but with my variations it's a 5 star recipe! I subbed about a cup of diced zucchini for the mushrooms, and added some special ingredients that my Dad uses in his signature chili- two bay leaves, a heaping teaspoon of brown sugar, and a dash of cinnamon. I served it with a splash of almond milk to make it a little creamier. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle9004

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Good flavour and easy to make. I agree using less flour and more cornmeal. Adding a jalapeno or two for some heat can't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
OMG! I recently became a vegetarian 2 months ago & glad I found this tasty meal. My family & I loved loved loved this receipe! I didnt have any Oregeno or Basil, but it taste just as great! Im thinking about making this again really soon & will make sure to have all ingredients. The only difference is that I used 2 cans of peeled tomatoes instead. Thanks again for this great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
LOVED this. I added a touch of crushed red pepper flakes to spice it up. It made a lot so being single, I have plenty to freeze for a quick weeknight meal. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I might tweak the balance of veggies to beans a bit, but we really enjoyed this pot of chili over the Labor Day weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRCelano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
i drained and rinsed the beans and just added a little water to make up for it (about a quarter cup). also subbed celery for mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I made my own beans (15 oz can = 1.5 cup) and used frozen corn. To compensate for the liquid I added 3 cups of broth. I cooked an extra 20 min uncovered (while the corn bread was cooking ;) ) and the consistency came out perfectly. However both hubbie and I found it bland - I would double the spices next time and add some heat. Hubbie likes to add a dash of vinegar too, says it brings out the flavour more. But definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States