Veggie Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Good flavour and easy to make. I agree using less flour and more cornmeal. Adding a jalapeno or two for some heat can't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
OMG! I recently became a vegetarian 2 months ago & glad I found this tasty meal. My family & I loved loved loved this receipe! I didnt have any Oregeno or Basil, but it taste just as great! Im thinking about making this again really soon & will make sure to have all ingredients. The only difference is that I used 2 cans of peeled tomatoes instead. Thanks again for this great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
LOVED this. I added a touch of crushed red pepper flakes to spice it up. It made a lot so being single, I have plenty to freeze for a quick weeknight meal. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I might tweak the balance of veggies to beans a bit, but we really enjoyed this pot of chili over the Labor Day weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRCelano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
i drained and rinsed the beans and just added a little water to make up for it (about a quarter cup). also subbed celery for mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I made my own beans (15 oz can = 1.5 cup) and used frozen corn. To compensate for the liquid I added 3 cups of broth. I cooked an extra 20 min uncovered (while the corn bread was cooking ;) ) and the consistency came out perfectly. However both hubbie and I found it bland - I would double the spices next time and add some heat. Hubbie likes to add a dash of vinegar too, says it brings out the flavour more. But definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I left out the carrots, green pepper, mushroom and corn due to picky eaters. just added an extra can of black bean instead. also drained and rinsed all the beans as the bean juice in the can seems really gross to me. added 1.5 cups water instead. turned out really great and flavorful. put cheese on top. really cheap and healthy, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boys722

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Was very god. All it needed was celery...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I didn't follow this exactly but it was a good starting point. I cut back on the chili powder a little and added a couple jalapenos, and added a bottle of Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout and a bit of salt. After putting in the basil, oregano and cumin it seemed to be a little bitter (mostly because of the cumin I think) so I added a little brown sugar to sweeten it up. Tossed in a couple bay leaves and let it simmer a while. The result was very spicy but quite good. I used this recipe to experiment with instead of some other fine looking recipes on this site mostly because I didn't want to use "fake meat" I don't think a bean based dish needs that if done right. A good recipe that seems practical to add your own twist to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
this is excellent....made a huge batch for my husbands lunch during the week..He loved it thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States