Veggie Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by the4taals
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
I made this recipe for our August Canadian Allrecipes Allstar assignment. I used this recipe as a jumping off point as I really liked the idea of the dish but wanted to use fresh vegetables since that was the main point of our assignment and my next door neighbour brought me a box of goodies from his garden. I sauteed onion, carrot, celery, green pepper and zucchini in 1 tbsp of olive oil. I only had a 15 oz can of fire roasted tomatoes so I added some tomato sauce until it was wet enough. For seasoning I used 1 tsp each of brown sugar, basil, oregano, black pepper, onion powder and garlic powder, I omitted the salt. For the roux I used 1/4 cup each butter and flour, then added 1 cup each of skim milk and 5% cream, then the Parmesan cheese. I used whole wheat spaghetti, I added Swiss Chard halfway through the cooking time. To reduce pots and pans I first cooked the pasta and Swiss Chard, then drained in the collander, then I sauteed the vegetables and made the sauce in the same pot, I added the pasta and Swiss Chard back in and mix together then transferred to my baking pan, then I rinsed it out and made the Bechamel sauce for the topping. We really enjoyed it and I would definitely make again. #FreshFaces #AllrecipesAllstarCanada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Just the simple recipe I was looking for. I was running low on groceries & had to feed my family of 5. Didn't have mushrooms or olives, but I added garlic and Italian spices. I even threw in a mozzarella cheese stick I pulled apart. Everyone loved it, even my picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is delicious!I added Garlic with the onoin, and also more veggies than just the musrooms and tomatoes. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This didn't work out well for me at all. There wasn't enough sauce for 1 lb. of spaghetti, even though I added tomato juice before pouring it in. (NB: I also added oregano and basil to the tomato sauce and nutmeg to the white sauce, so they smelled and tasted good.) The spaghetti, though slightly undercooked, still got mushy in a 335 degree oven for 25 mins. (lower and less than the recipe called for). I like the layered idea and may try it again, but I'll use a thicker pasta (e.g. mostaccioli or penne) and make more of both sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I found that the following was needed to make it excellent. Bulb of garlick sliced, 1.5 cups of cheddar cheese to the sauce, 8 slices of bacon, fresh mushrooms in lieu of tined ones. Then it would get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I added italian seasoning and garlic to tomato mixture. Loved it. Will definately make this over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
Although I enjoyed this recipe, my family had mixed reviews. My husband said it was good but not something he would want on a regular basis. My kids, 4 and 7, had a problem with the fact that it was pink. My 7 year old said that it actually tasted pretty good anyway. I added italian seasoning and garlic to the tomatoes while they were simmering for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
made this meal for my family, all truely enjoyed it! thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
I tried to cut the recipe in half. On the whole we liked it. The family vote was next time more tomatoes, less olives, and add some chicken. So we will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
This is a very good dish to take to a friend in need. A salad and bread give them a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States