Veggie Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Wow - fabulous recipe! I never really marinated veggies before, but I thought I'd give this a try and I'm glad I did. This was very easy and it gave this already vibrant dish a nice herbed flavor. I used olive oil and fresh garlic vs. garlic powder. I added some red and green peppers, red onion, and cherry tomatoes. I put all the cut up veggies into a ziploc bag along with the marinade, tossed everything to coat and let it go for a couple of hours. I skewered the veggies and basted with the leftover marinade. Very simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was great! I used different veggies (yellow squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers, cherry tomatoes) but you can use any veggies that sound good. I put all the marinade ingredients in a gallon ziploc bag and squished everything together to blend. Then I cut up the veggies (except the cherry tomatoes - left them whole) and threw them in the bag too. I gently squished everything around again so the marinade could coat each piece, and let it marinate for about an hour. Then I threaded the veggies onto skewers and grilled them up. Delicious and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Oh so yummy! Works with lots of different veggies--I definitely recommend throwing some onions and peppers in there as I think it adds to the overall flavor of the marinade. Also, try one clove of garlic minced in place of the garlic powder. And I've recently discovered this recipe works just as great if you just throw all the veggies in a pan and roast it at about 425 for around 30 mins, stirring occasionally--much less effort this way, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I was always spreading just olive oil and salt and pepper on my veggie skewers, but now that i have this recipe I will never have to go back to plain veggie skewers again. This recipe was remarkable. Thanks a million
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Good recipe I added some minced fresh Garlic and used fresh lime juice.. because had no fresh lemons, was great, will use this one again , would probably also be a good marinade for chicken !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I made this for a barbecue with a bunch of omnivore friends and they chose these skewers over the marinated chicken breast on the meat grill!! I set up a station where they could make their own skewers and it was a huge hit! Don't forget to soak bamboo skewers for 30 minutes before you toss them on the grill or else you will get some burnt skewers and raw veggies : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Adds a lot of flavor to grilled vegetables - we love this recipe and have used it several times when grilling. I also tried a variety of different vegetables, including peppers and grape tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Delicious! I used the seasoning blend as a marinade for a different variety of veggies...squash, eggplant, red onions, mushroom, yellow and red peppers. I let them marinate for about an hour, then threw them in a metal pan on the grill while the chicken cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
These were very good and very easy to make. I made the recipe exactly as is, but may experiment with a few different kinds of veggies next time. Hubby even ate it all up and he's a self-proclaimed "meat and potatoes man."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This recipe was awesome. I loved the flavor of the marinade. My family could not get enough. The only thing I did different is not using the mushrooms (I have a picky eater in my family). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very tasty. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States