Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This recipe is great because of it's versatility. I should have used what I had on hand (peas instead of green beans and broccoli instead of cauliflower). As other reviews said, it is soupy but if you let it cool after baking, a lot of it is absorbed and that extra broth is needed. One thing that a novice like myself wont know is to bring it to a boil after adding the starch mixture to help it thicken. Luckily my hubby directed me to do this. I also used chicken broth just to get the real pot pie flavor. My carnivore husband said it's the best pot pie he's ever tasted. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
As is, it was good not great. There just seemed to be something missing maybe a certain herb or seasoning but it definitely seemed to lack something. As far as thickening goes, well I believe next time I will use 3 tablespoons of cornstarch or simply boil it longer until it's very, very thick. How it looked going in the pie is how it looked when it came out. A bit on the watery side. Eventually it set a bit but that is when it was cool. I don't personally want to eat a cold pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
great dish. I added sweet potato instead, added edamame instead of carrots, bell pepper instead of celery, only because thats what I had on hand. Great versatile recipe, I think you can add to your liking. took advice of other reviewers, added 3 extra TBLS of cornstarch. i also added an extra TBLS of soy sauce, and omitted the water, just mixed soy sauce and cornstarch and the end result was a perfect consistency. also used chx cubes instead of veg broth, and salted to taste. will make again. used the pie crust for this recipe and turned out great. I did cook the crust for about 10 minutes before filling it and it wasn't soggy at all. very hearty meal without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Best Pot Pie Recipe I've tried, my family and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great pot pie! I made a few changes based on comments. I used 2 1/2 cups of broth and I baked the bottom pie crust for a few minutes before adding the filling. It was perfect. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
BEWARE THE CRUST! I couldn't give it less than 4 stars because maybe it was my error--used store bought crust and it was raw! Left in in an additional 10 mins and was beautifully golden, but the bottom was a raw, soggy mess. Stay away from Trader Joe's crust. It also wasn't big enough for a 9" pie plate though that's what it said to use. However, the filling was delicious. I'm going to throw some beans in with the leftover filling and make some biscuits to crumble on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very good! I followed the recipe and it turned out great! The bottom crust was not soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was an excellent recipe! I didn't have cornstarch, so I just used regular flour. I also chopped up the mushrooms in a food processor for the family member who doesn't like large pieces of mushroom in her food. I didn't have cauliflower, but I did at the chopped up stems of some broccoli, which gave the dish a delicious flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AzhiaShalott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was sooo good!! I followed the recipe exactly and it just turned out so good and flavorful. The whole pie was gone within 24 hours... amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am no longer cooking meat so I was looking for a good pot pie recipe. I rated this a 3 because it was good but not what I was expecting. I love mushrooms but in this I wasn't a fan. Wish I would have read reviews better because I would have followed others advice to add more cornstarch, way too runny. Again, the recipe was good just not what I was looking for I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaird720

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States