Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I'm sorry to say but I found this recipe to be disappointing. The sauce did not thicken, and I added extra corn starch. It was bland, and despite the fact that I cooked the vegetables longer than the recipe called for, the potato was underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Excellent, simple, hearty, delicious, healthy pot pie for vegetarians and omnivores alike. This was the first pot pie I ever attempted and it turned out wonderfully! I made minor modifications based on comments: 1. I prebaked the crust for a few minutes at 350, brushing butter on bottom crust and eggwash on top (later) 2. I used 2.5 cups of broth instead of 3. 3. I omitted cauliflower and added more of the other veggies 4. I used 2.5 tbs cornstarch instead of 3 Love it! Thank you! It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A good basic recipe, I will make it again. To reduce the fat content, I left out the bottom crust - and nobody missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I wasn't expecting much out of this but decided to try it since it had so many good reviews. Glad I did. This is pretty much perfect. I did change some stuff according to what I had. I used 1 1/2 cups of frozen sliced carrots, 1 cup of peas and 3 potatoes. I didn't use mushroom or green beans. I added an extra half cup of veggie broth. I also double the cornstarch in the mixture. I added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I was a bit nervous when I saw the sauce contained soy sauce - not a favorite of my family. After looking at the reviews I addied some thyme, the extra corn starch and baked the bottom crust for about 15 minutes. sauce was soooo delicious. This was a great hit with my family and the bottom crust remained perfect. They are already asking me to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made my own Vegan variation on this-using pretty much the same ingredients, except added some corn, sweet potatoes and peas....I only used just over 2 cups of Veggie broth and simmered in high to get a fast sauce reduction. I used a premade flour pie shell and instead of using a crust on top, made a mashed potato crust with Vegan butter, Vegan cheese and rice milk...topped it off and voila. This recipe is an AMAZING and easy to prepare....and I love that the fat content is very low and the veggies on their own with just the broth and soy sauce concoction are incredible!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Thanks for the great recipe! Play with it and add whatever veggies you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
It was delicious, but it calls for way too much pepper! I cut the recipe in half, and I also made a few changes: 2 tbsp of margarine, 1/4 cup of onion, 1/4 cup peas, 1/4 cup corn, 3/8 tsp pepper, pinch oregano, and sprinkled garlic powder at the end of the cooking process (on the stove top). I used water instead of vegetable stock, because I didn't have it on hand, so I thickened it with a roux (1/4 cup of butter & 1/4 cup of flour). Thank you for this recipe, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This veggie pot pie is a great comfort food and is fairly easy to make. It is true that the thickness of the veggie "sauce" is the same pre-baking as post-baking, so you can tweak the cornstarch and spices to your liking before pouring into the pie crust. Instead of soy sauce I used miso to add a salty savoriness without such a distinctive taste. I also went crazy on the garlic and added thyme, sage, and oregano. For the pie crust, I prefer the crust you'll find on the "No Skill Fruit Tart" recipe. Easy, flavorful, and the perfect texture. I had so much veggie mix left over from the first batch of pot pie that I bought crusts the next day and made another pie. Had I have known, I would've made more dough (double) the night before. Next time I will make two pies and freeze them-if they don't get eaten first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
VERY VERY GOOD!! I added 1 cup broccoli as well as 1 yellow squash, otherwise, followed the recipe exactly! I made it in a 9x11 pan and everyone loved it. Definitely will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States