Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I took the advice of another review individual and used 4 Tbs of cornstarch. Made the consistency perfect. My husband is not a vegetarian but he said this had so much flavor that he didn't even miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I did not like this at all! Too much cauliflower. I am NOT a picky eater & usually LOVE all vegetables. However, I had to smother this in cheese & add turkey to try and mask the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Really easy and filling for chilly autumn evening comfort food. As a vegetarian it's difficult to find good "comfort food" recipes. I omitted the celery and green beans, and used instead frozen bags of carrot/pea mix, and broccoli/cauliflower mix. I also used Pilsbury ready-made pie crust and substituted potato starch for the corn starch. It reminded me of the Swanson pot pies I grew up eating (only BETTER), and was great for leftovers. Since my pie was smaller because I used the pie crusts, I used up the rest of the mix by having it over brown rice -- another really great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I haven't had a pot-pie for at least 20 yrs (haven't eaten meat since then). Periodically, I check the Swanson Pot Pies at the grocery store, hoping they came up with a veggie pie (Amy's Vegan Pot Pies are too expensive for my liking), so I'm really excited to have found this great recipe that's just how I remember it, but much healthier and animal-friendly! I used "chicken" tvp. I'm sure precooked vegan "chicken" would be great too. And I'm sure that the recipe as is is just as great too. But this was my 1st time making a pot pie with an attempt to make it just as much as how I remembered the meat-version, so that's the only reason I used the TVP. This is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was delicious! The broth was a little runny so I need to add more cornstarch next time. The flavor was amazing. I love this recipe because it's open for adding any kind of vegetables that you have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe was awesome. Our family loves meat so I added some bacon bits and it was perfect. This also works with cornbread topping instead of inside a pie. AWESOME, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I was looking for some hearty comfort food on a cold autumn evening, and this pot pie was exactly what I was craving. The veggies I used were red skinned potatoes, parsnips, green beans, carrots, onions, portabellas and shiitakes. Other than the veggies, the other change I made was I added a little thyme and ground sage to the filling, and a little extra cornstarch. Make sure to bake the bottom of the pie crust for about 10-15 minutes before you add the filling so the bottom of the pie won't get soggy. This was delicious and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Flavor was really good. I added more corn starch(2 extra TBS) but it was still pretty runny. no complaints from the eaters though, will make again. PS - 1tsp seems like a lot of pepper and i think it really stands out in the flavor. I am a pepper lover so no complaints from me but others might find it a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great pie. I'm not a fan of cauliflower mixed with other vegetables, as I think it is overpowering sometimes so I cut it out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was good. Not amazing but good. Not sure if I liked the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States