Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Recipe for filling was AWESOME. I didn't need to add any extra corn starch for the sauce to thicken. I suppose it depends on how thick you like the sauce. Unfortunately, I used some old phyllo dough pastry I had in the freezer for the crust, and it ruined the whole thing. I WILL be making this again, but next time with a better crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Simple and tasty. The filling also freezes well. I did not have any issues with too much liquid and a soft bottom crust. Other reviewers gave excellent pie crust recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Good starting point, lends itself well to customize as you wish. Add a bunch of your favorite veggies. I would recommend going heavy handed with fresh herbs and spices, including the salt and pepper. Thicken with cornstarch until desired consistency is achieved. Made into individual pies using puff pastry. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I'm sorry to say but I found this recipe to be disappointing. The sauce did not thicken, and I added extra corn starch. It was bland, and despite the fact that I cooked the vegetables longer than the recipe called for, the potato was underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Excellent, simple, hearty, delicious, healthy pot pie for vegetarians and omnivores alike. This was the first pot pie I ever attempted and it turned out wonderfully! I made minor modifications based on comments: 1. I prebaked the crust for a few minutes at 350, brushing butter on bottom crust and eggwash on top (later) 2. I used 2.5 cups of broth instead of 3. 3. I omitted cauliflower and added more of the other veggies 4. I used 2.5 tbs cornstarch instead of 3 Love it! Thank you! It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A good basic recipe, I will make it again. To reduce the fat content, I left out the bottom crust - and nobody missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I wasn't expecting much out of this but decided to try it since it had so many good reviews. Glad I did. This is pretty much perfect. I did change some stuff according to what I had. I used 1 1/2 cups of frozen sliced carrots, 1 cup of peas and 3 potatoes. I didn't use mushroom or green beans. I added an extra half cup of veggie broth. I also double the cornstarch in the mixture. I added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I was a bit nervous when I saw the sauce contained soy sauce - not a favorite of my family. After looking at the reviews I addied some thyme, the extra corn starch and baked the bottom crust for about 15 minutes. sauce was soooo delicious. This was a great hit with my family and the bottom crust remained perfect. They are already asking me to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made my own Vegan variation on this-using pretty much the same ingredients, except added some corn, sweet potatoes and peas....I only used just over 2 cups of Veggie broth and simmered in high to get a fast sauce reduction. I used a premade flour pie shell and instead of using a crust on top, made a mashed potato crust with Vegan butter, Vegan cheese and rice milk...topped it off and voila. This recipe is an AMAZING and easy to prepare....and I love that the fat content is very low and the veggies on their own with just the broth and soy sauce concoction are incredible!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Thanks for the great recipe! Play with it and add whatever veggies you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States