Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
For a first try at a pot pie, this was really great! The vegetables were very tender. The oven I was using had an iffy temperature control and I burnt the crust a bit, but it was nice and crisp. I probably added too much salt/soy sauce. I also substituted in cream of mushroom soup instead of adding the mushrooms, water, and cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great recipe for 1st timers! Easy to follow! Had to work on a tight budget, but was craving it so bad! Definitely used my intuition with the thickness and only added 1/2 tbsp of starch. Combined with this recipe! By only using frozen spinach and a mixture of cheeses from what I had in my fridge. (Mexican blend, Parmesan, and Oaxaca) The soy sauce was a great substitution for salt! I used Kroger crusts for convenience. And the yield made 2 whole 9"pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I used the no-roll pie crust recipe from this site and I subbed the filling ingredients for a more traditional pie, and what I had on hand - peas & carrots. I also added browned cubed (firm) tofu in place of potatoes. Absolutely fabulous - the "gravy" was delicious - I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used 5 tbsp cornstarch and it was not runny at all - it held its shape perfectly. Thank you for this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Recipe for filling was AWESOME. I didn't need to add any extra corn starch for the sauce to thicken. I suppose it depends on how thick you like the sauce. Unfortunately, I used some old phyllo dough pastry I had in the freezer for the crust, and it ruined the whole thing. I WILL be making this again, but next time with a better crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Simple and tasty. The filling also freezes well. I did not have any issues with too much liquid and a soft bottom crust. Other reviewers gave excellent pie crust recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Good starting point, lends itself well to customize as you wish. Add a bunch of your favorite veggies. I would recommend going heavy handed with fresh herbs and spices, including the salt and pepper. Thicken with cornstarch until desired consistency is achieved. Made into individual pies using puff pastry. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I'm sorry to say but I found this recipe to be disappointing. The sauce did not thicken, and I added extra corn starch. It was bland, and despite the fact that I cooked the vegetables longer than the recipe called for, the potato was underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Excellent, simple, hearty, delicious, healthy pot pie for vegetarians and omnivores alike. This was the first pot pie I ever attempted and it turned out wonderfully! I made minor modifications based on comments: 1. I prebaked the crust for a few minutes at 350, brushing butter on bottom crust and eggwash on top (later) 2. I used 2.5 cups of broth instead of 3. 3. I omitted cauliflower and added more of the other veggies 4. I used 2.5 tbs cornstarch instead of 3 Love it! Thank you! It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A good basic recipe, I will make it again. To reduce the fat content, I left out the bottom crust - and nobody missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I wasn't expecting much out of this but decided to try it since it had so many good reviews. Glad I did. This is pretty much perfect. I did change some stuff according to what I had. I used 1 1/2 cups of frozen sliced carrots, 1 cup of peas and 3 potatoes. I didn't use mushroom or green beans. I added an extra half cup of veggie broth. I also double the cornstarch in the mixture. I added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States