Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Thanks for the great recipe! Play with it and add whatever veggies you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
It was delicious, but it calls for way too much pepper! I cut the recipe in half, and I also made a few changes: 2 tbsp of margarine, 1/4 cup of onion, 1/4 cup peas, 1/4 cup corn, 3/8 tsp pepper, pinch oregano, and sprinkled garlic powder at the end of the cooking process (on the stove top). I used water instead of vegetable stock, because I didn't have it on hand, so I thickened it with a roux (1/4 cup of butter & 1/4 cup of flour). Thank you for this recipe, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This veggie pot pie is a great comfort food and is fairly easy to make. It is true that the thickness of the veggie "sauce" is the same pre-baking as post-baking, so you can tweak the cornstarch and spices to your liking before pouring into the pie crust. Instead of soy sauce I used miso to add a salty savoriness without such a distinctive taste. I also went crazy on the garlic and added thyme, sage, and oregano. For the pie crust, I prefer the crust you'll find on the "No Skill Fruit Tart" recipe. Easy, flavorful, and the perfect texture. I had so much veggie mix left over from the first batch of pot pie that I bought crusts the next day and made another pie. Had I have known, I would've made more dough (double) the night before. Next time I will make two pies and freeze them-if they don't get eaten first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
VERY VERY GOOD!! I added 1 cup broccoli as well as 1 yellow squash, otherwise, followed the recipe exactly! I made it in a 9x11 pan and everyone loved it. Definitely will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Best veggie dish ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used crescent roll dough instead of pie crust. Note that if you do this you have to reduce the time and/or temperature! After I peeled off the burnt crust, though, my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I took the advice of another review individual and used 4 Tbs of cornstarch. Made the consistency perfect. My husband is not a vegetarian but he said this had so much flavor that he didn't even miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I did not like this at all! Too much cauliflower. I am NOT a picky eater & usually LOVE all vegetables. However, I had to smother this in cheese & add turkey to try and mask the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Really easy and filling for chilly autumn evening comfort food. As a vegetarian it's difficult to find good "comfort food" recipes. I omitted the celery and green beans, and used instead frozen bags of carrot/pea mix, and broccoli/cauliflower mix. I also used Pilsbury ready-made pie crust and substituted potato starch for the corn starch. It reminded me of the Swanson pot pies I grew up eating (only BETTER), and was great for leftovers. Since my pie was smaller because I used the pie crusts, I used up the rest of the mix by having it over brown rice -- another really great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I haven't had a pot-pie for at least 20 yrs (haven't eaten meat since then). Periodically, I check the Swanson Pot Pies at the grocery store, hoping they came up with a veggie pie (Amy's Vegan Pot Pies are too expensive for my liking), so I'm really excited to have found this great recipe that's just how I remember it, but much healthier and animal-friendly! I used "chicken" tvp. I'm sure precooked vegan "chicken" would be great too. And I'm sure that the recipe as is is just as great too. But this was my 1st time making a pot pie with an attempt to make it just as much as how I remembered the meat-version, so that's the only reason I used the TVP. This is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States