Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
ATTENTION!! Before you make this be sure you take note that it takes (at least) 4 Tblsps cornstarch!!! (otherwise you get a tasty breaded veggie soup)! Other than that---VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueSadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Really good, but the next time I make it, I would make the following changes: 1) cook the pie crust a little first, then add veggies and cook again so that the crust is really done. 2) drain most of the broth after cooking veggies. I did skim some off but still put too much in the pie crust. It makes the crust soggy and the pie hard to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Great meatless meal. I am not a vegetarian but do like to cook meatless dishes regularly. WARNING to vegetarians-- some of the Pilsbury pie crusts have LARD in them! And, Hostess goodies have beef fat in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYSAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very good! I had to make mine in a 9x13 dish as I had sooo much filling. Not sure if I did something wrong or not, but there was no way this would've fit in anything but that size. I used Pillsbury refrigerated crust and being that the dish size was so big, the crust was quite thin on top and didn't cook totally through in some spots. Still, this was a great recipe. Quite the comfort food for a rainy day or something like that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Yummy! I realized that I didn't have any white potatoes so I used sweet potatoes instead. I used an extra tablespoon of cornstarch as other expected. This will make it into our families normal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Career2HomeSchoolMom
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by proudwife
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I used frozen veggies to cut down on prep time (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, green beans, peas) and only had to cut garlic, onion & potatoes, so total prep time was like 15 minutes! It was freakin delicious. Definitely something we'll make regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe came out fabulously. I made two pies using frozen crusts, the amount of filling the recipe makes filled 2 pie crusts perfectly. I'm looking forward to making it again and trying differnt combinations of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill B
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Thanks for the basics! I substituted the frozen veggies I had on hand (ie. instead of 2 cups of cauliflower, I had 1 cup peas 1 cup corn). Since a lot of people mentioned that it could be runny, after I simmered the veggies, I used a slotted spoon to scoop them into the shell - so I just got the liquid that came with the scoops of veggies. Also, I used a regular pie plate instead of a rectangle pan. I think you could do it in little pie pans like the traditional frozen pot pies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
My friend originally made this for me and sent me the link to the recipe because I liked it so much. So hard to find a good vegetarian pot pie recipe and this one hits the spot! My only issues were getting the "gravy" part of the pie thick enough and also that I had way more vegetables than could fit in a single pie. I too used frozen pie crust and frozen vegetables when possible to speed things up. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redbetsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was so yummy! I used lima beans instead of green beans and we really liked it. I made a pan of it to give our daughter and they really liked it too-asked for the recipie even. This is very good reheated as well. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States