Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe, but I did change a few things. I didn't use any mushrooms or green beans and added veggie chicken strips. Instead of using 3 cups of broth, I used a can of cream of mushroom soup with a can and a 1/2 of broth. I also used 3 tbsp cornstarch and 1 tbsp each of soy sauce and worcestershire. FYI, the thickness of the filling in the pot is how thick it will be in the pie. It took 45 minutes to bake. The pie turned out delicious and so satisfying! UPDATE- I made another pie since I have enough filling, but I waited a couple of days. It was SO good. The flavors had combined and it was even better than the first. I would highly recommend letting the filling sit overnight. This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie_C_S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. This pie is wonderful! Everyone enjoys it. Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
LOVED THIS! I followed the recipe exactly, but did do what others recommended and added 2 tblsp. of cornstarch and subtracted one cup of vegetable broth. It was delicious, and it made enough filling for me to freeze filling for a second pie (I used a regular pie plate for the one I made). I even got a VERY pick 15 month old to eat it, and he hates pretty much everything that is inside of it. He gobbled it up! We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I'm vegetarian and a pot-pie lover. Those things don't always mix so well. I mean Amy's frozen pot-pies are a pretty good stand-in, but some times ya gotta have the real thing fresh out of the oven. I tried this recipe two nights ago, followed the directions to a T, but there was enough to fill two pie tins! So, no biggie, I rolled with it and made two pies. Had one for dinner and froze the other. It's a good thing too because my boyfriend (non-veg, btw) liked it so much, he ate half of one, and took the other one to work for lunch. I can't wait to make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
We absolutely love this pot pie! I did reduce the broth to 2 cups and used 4-5 tbsp. cornstarch, which thickened the sauce almost immediately. Also, I didn't have fresh carrots, green beans, or cauliflower, so I used a 1 lb. bag of frozen mixed veggies instead. Next time, I will use the fresh veggies instead. It was soooo good! Thanks so much for a fantastic veggie pot pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was very yummy and I definitely will be making it again! My one caution -- the picture of this recipe shows a pie plate but the recipe calls for an 11x7 baking dish. I had planned for a pie size, so I just added in a cup of frozen corn and a cup of frozen peas, and I had enough filling for 2 9" pies. We froze one and will have it to use at a later date. We are excited about that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
ATTENTION!! Before you make this be sure you take note that it takes (at least) 4 Tblsps cornstarch!!! (otherwise you get a tasty breaded veggie soup)! Other than that---VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueSadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Really good, but the next time I make it, I would make the following changes: 1) cook the pie crust a little first, then add veggies and cook again so that the crust is really done. 2) drain most of the broth after cooking veggies. I did skim some off but still put too much in the pie crust. It makes the crust soggy and the pie hard to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Great meatless meal. I am not a vegetarian but do like to cook meatless dishes regularly. WARNING to vegetarians-- some of the Pilsbury pie crusts have LARD in them! And, Hostess goodies have beef fat in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYSAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very good! I had to make mine in a 9x13 dish as I had sooo much filling. Not sure if I did something wrong or not, but there was no way this would've fit in anything but that size. I used Pillsbury refrigerated crust and being that the dish size was so big, the crust was quite thin on top and didn't cook totally through in some spots. Still, this was a great recipe. Quite the comfort food for a rainy day or something like that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States