Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Yummy! I halved the recipe, put it in a frozen pie crust & covered it with phyllo dough brushed with olive oil. I was impressed. I didn't miss the creaminess of frozen pot pies at all. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
It tastes pretty good, but the measurements are WAY off. I followed the recipe exactly, and ended up with too little crust and WAY too many veggies for the pan. I'd say the quantity of veggies needs to be reduced by at least a third. Another clove of garlic probably wouldn't hurt, either. I'll make it again, but not without some dramatic adjustments to quantity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Excellent pot pie, took it to a potluck and it got rave reviews. I omitted the cauliflower and mushrooms just because I didn't have any. Also substituted swiss chard stems for the cauliflower and arrow root for the cornstach. Perfect consistency I thought. Mmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Excellent base recipe. I added more cornstarch like other reviewers. Try in individual ramekins, with just a top crust to reduce calories/fat and for presentation value. All three of my children love this! I used Knorr veg. bouillon for a little more flavor than broth and found I didn't need additional salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was excellent! All six of my family members loved it...for the first time in a long time, there weren't any leftovers! I follwed the notes of a few other reviews and added an extra TBS of corn starch, which worked wonderfully. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This dish came out very good. I had all of these veggies in the fridge that had to be used. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable both and added edamame for protein. For the pie crust, I made a Brazilian recipe, which is used for chicken pot pie in South of Brazil, add the following ingredients to the blender: 1 egg, 1 egg white, 1/3 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup of milk and flour (around 6 Tbsp, I don't usually measure the flour, I just add a few Tbsp until is nice and not too firm, is supposed to be like a thick smoothie). Poured some of the crust on the bottom of a baking pan, then the veggie mixture and the rest of the crust. Baked at 385 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
excellent meal that is so easy to make and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Bacerott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I used this as a basis for my pot pie. I used chicken broth since that's all I had and after all, the purpose of pot pie is to make one big meal out of lots of little things left over. I used a biscuit topping and this was a big hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Next time I would use a little less soy sauce because I thought the taste of it was overwhelming... but overall a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I did everything as instructed and my pot pie filling is an ugly dark brown color and smells quite unappetizing. I used Swanson Veg. Broth from the can, it was a reddish brown color when it came out. After seeing the results, I would strongly advise others not to use this brand when making this recipe! It's so disappointing, I'm sure this recipe makes a good pot pie. I'm curious to know what brand of broth others users used in their recipes, all the photos have lovely light colored filling. No matter what, I'm still giving it 4 stars since I'm sure it was the broth and not the recipe that was the mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States