Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this last night for my vegetarian friend and I made it as a personal pot pie for her. I didn't have mushrooms or cauliflower so I added some frozen corn and peas, fresh green beans, potatoes, celery, carrots and onions. I also added fresh Thyme and Rosemary. Very good! I followed others' advice and baked the bottom crust for about 5 minutes. I also added a bit more cornstarch and broth and didn't have issues with it being runny or soggy. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Really great. A family hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
It was ok, maybe a little dry and could use a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Pretty good although it was a little bland, the only alteration I made was to omit the mushrooms (we don't like them). We did like it enough to try it again sometime but with a few changes maybe some hot sauce in the "gravy" or something to spice it up. Also, I used Pie Crust IV from this site I did not pre-bake it and it turned out great. The bottom crust was not at all soggy and the top was flaky and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made this vegan style and it came out great! I used flour instead of cornstarch and added a bit of soymilk (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JROBERTS1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Terrific recipe; I've made this dish at least 6 times in the past 3 weeks. Here's my spin on an already fabulous meal: Dissolved half a vegetable bullion cube (in place of soy sauce) and 4 heaping spoonfuls of cornstarch with 4 tablespoons mushroom broth. Subbed in mushroom broth for veggie broth, omitted the sliced mushrooms, added fresh, chopped herbs (rosemary, sage, oragano, thyme) to the pot as well as to the top crust dough. To save time (and butter!) I used a pre-made vegan-friendly whole wheat pie crust. I also dusted the bottom with a bit of cornstarch in fear of a too-runny filling. So tasty, so satisfying, so making this a staple for the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Have been looking for a good veggie pot pie recipe and this one is the best! I also subbed in some veggies that I had on hand and didn't dice all the vegetables to give the pie a little more character. I also added 4 tbs of cornstarch, which worked great. I would have made 1.5x the crust recipe just so the crust would be a little more substantial. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Wow that's good! Increased the corn starch to 4 tbsp as per other reviewer's suggestions and sprinled in some poultry seasoning with the vegetible broth. Made 2 pie pan sized pot pies. Best veggie pot pie I'e ever tried. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
It was good, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
A really good recipe all around. We did some tweaking, took out greenbeans and cauliflower and added peas, corn and diced tofu. I also used water instead of broth and added sage, rosemary and a few other seasonings instead. Needed an adtl Tbsp of cornstarch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States