Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I don't think I've had pot pie this good since... well ever! I'm a vegetarian and all memories of pot pie were tarnished with memories of picking out chicken bits and meaty aftertastes. I made this for myself and my husband and he couldn't stop going back for more! He's not a vegetarian but he was definitely satisfied with the flavor. I did make the following changes though: I used a jiffy pie-crust recipe (which I brushed with some beaten egg when the filling was loaded), 1/2 of a chopped onion, 1/4 cup sliced button mushrooms, 2 russet potatoes, 1 and 1/2 carrots (sliced), 1 large parsnip (sliced), 1 cup broccoli florets, 1/2 cup vegetable broth, 3 tbs enriched white flour, 1 tbs soy sauce, and 2 tbs fresh, minced rosemary. Mostly these changes were due to what I had on hand and the comments about there being too much filling, but I loved the combination so much I think I'll stick with the veggie choices. Though prep-time was a bit time-consuming, the results are well worth the work :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Great recipe for vegetarians or non-vegetarians; very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was delicious!! The only problem I had was that it was a little dry. So I quickly made up more gravy and it was perfect!!! Next time, I will definitely double the gravy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe. The instructions could have been slightly better written, but I'm just a bit of a stickler for that. I altered things a bit, using significantly more corn starch than in the recipe, and I put a half teaspoon of dried rosemary, oregano, and parsley. Next time I'm either making more dough (the recipe for that is awesome by the way) so that it covers a bit more fully, or more likely I'll make individual pies in either cupcake tins or ramekins. I can't imagine a better meal to bring to work on a cold rainy day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmouse85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This recipe is sooo easy to make. i love making it every time...and get rave reviews..even by a bunch of big warehouse working (meat eating!) men at my sisters holiday work potluck! stuck to the recipe although sometimes i add different veggies depending on what looks and sounds good at the store. its great for left overs also!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was so easy! I did not have celery so I used celery seeds. It is perfect and will be a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loved this!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very good with lots of fresh veggies! I cut fat and calories by not using a bottom crust (no need to worry about a soggy crust) and put on a top crust. We're not vegetarians but I try to use meat no more than twice in a week. Both my husband and dauther took seconds. Do all the whopping and chopping first then this recipe goes together smoothly. I ran out of soy sauce so I used Worchestershire sauce instead - still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I can't believe I'm the only one who mentioned this, but I think this recipe would be much better without the soy sauce. My husband said it tasted like stir fry pot pie. It wasn't a bad taste, just too weird for my taste. Also, I doubled the cornstarch per other reviews. The best thing about this was the crust which didn't come from this recipe specifically. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this last night for my vegetarian friend and I made it as a personal pot pie for her. I didn't have mushrooms or cauliflower so I added some frozen corn and peas, fresh green beans, potatoes, celery, carrots and onions. I also added fresh Thyme and Rosemary. Very good! I followed others' advice and baked the bottom crust for about 5 minutes. I also added a bit more cornstarch and broth and didn't have issues with it being runny or soggy. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States