Veggie Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was very good! I didn't have any sunflower seeds so I substituted 1 cup of peanuts instead and it turned out great. I also only put in 1/4 cup of oil to reduce the fat content, especially since I used peanuts. Other then that I followed the recipe pretty close and found that it actually makes 4 cups (before being cooked) so I divided it into four different containers, baked one and froze the other three. After baking let it cool to room temp and it can be shaped into a ball or log for a nice presentation, sprinkle top with dried parsley and paprika too. Next time I will add some cayenne pepper for a little extra zip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe! I tried it with triscuits and couldn't stop eating. I don't have a food processor, but I was able to use my blender just as easily. Tastes as good as it smells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Wonderful! I have missed veggie patê since leaving Montreal, and have been unable to find a recipe. This is a great one - and so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was wonderful! I also used my blender and it mixed up very well. I made this for a party and one suggestion I would make is to flip the pate onto a large plate or platter - for a more appetizing presentation! Will make this recipe again, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I've been making this dish and its variants for decades, and it's a local favorite in Quebec. The choice of yeast is a critical element. In Quebec, torula yeast is fairly common, but in the states people in stores look quizzically at you when you ask for it. Some Asian markets carry it. If you can't find it, look for a primary yeast grown on molasses for the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Excellent taste! Just like the one I buy at the store, but for a much better value! This recipe yields the equivalent of 4 of those little Fontaine Sante packs and I calculated it costs around $6 to make (vs almost $16 for 4 packs of commercial paté!) One little thing: next time i'll go with only 1 cup of water maximum instead of 1 1/2 for a denser texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Facehole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe! I hated paying $5 for a small veggie pate at our local farmers market. This was so easy to whip up and I made 2 large pates (2 cup ramekins) and 4 small pates (in 3/4 cup ramekins). The flavour and texture are great. I'll defintely be making this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was good, though I think the taste of the sunflower seeds was too strong and I will reduce next time to about 2/3 cup. Also when I thaw out my leftovers from the freezer, I'll give it a couple of splashes of tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I really liked this recipe -- I'm glad I came across something like this since it is regularly so expensive in the store (5$ for a 1" slice). I made this recipe to precision but next time, I'll probably try something different with it since it seems to be a base recipe with a few extra herbs added. I'm thinking along the lines of curry powders and poultry spice mixes... even though I'm a vegetarian. I think this could very easily take on the smells and flavours of a Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice
Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katEh_d0lL
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
it's really yummy, but I have to add more spice to it, and add ground red pepper to give it a bit more zing for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katEh_d0lL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States