Veggie Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Good stuff. Looks ugly, taste great. Spread on pita or naan and top with veggies. Easy too. Might be worth cutting in half or freezing some as it makes quite a bit. Goes on the keeper list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The sage or some other spice really made me feel like I was eating stuffing which is not positive for me. I loved the texture for spreading on crackers or dipping with. I will make this again with a slight change in the spice mixture. Also thanks to the person that said they used their blender as I don't have a processor. I just made sure to add the veggies and liquid first before the flour etc. Also I used chickpea flour and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I love this recipe. Made a few changes: doubled the spices; instead of oil, I used a 1/4 cup tahini and 1 tsp tamari (soy sauce). I also used 3/4 cup water and 1/2 c veggie broth. I also added 1/2 tsp creole seasoning (Tony Thachery Creole seasoning. Sorry, I put it on everything). It was delicious, but it was even better after 2 days in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
this is great. I am making it again for the second time this week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Jane Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I loved this! Couldn't find nutritional yeast. So, added a little more flour. I will cut down the amount of water by 1/2 cup to give a thicker consistency. And depending on the crowd that I'm serving this to, I would add some red pepper flakes & tabasco sauce to give it a little punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
WOW! Do not change anything the first time you make this,Fantastic as is. I have made this over and over and have played with it a tad,more spice, mix of herbs, Black beans makes a great sub for the potato. I also can this and has a shelf life of 12 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEARA
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This paté is rich and delicious!! I took the suggestions given by some reviewers and used 4 garlic cloves, soy sauce instead of salt, 1 cup of water and only 5 tablespoon canola oil. I served it w/ homemade whole meal bread and green salad. It's a lot of paté. We are just 2 people and in spite of beeing a lot I had to hide some away so DH would not pig ou and finish everything at once :) This is addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Excellent taste! Just like the one I buy at the store, but for a much better value! This recipe yields the equivalent of 4 of those little Fontaine Sante packs and I calculated it costs around $6 to make (vs almost $16 for 4 packs of commercial paté!) One little thing: next time i'll go with only 1 cup of water maximum instead of 1 1/2 for a denser texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Facehole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I couldn't find nutritional yeast so I'm not sure how much this affected the flavour. It wasn't bad, the texture was good, and it ended up tasting like a bizarre version of pot pie! Unfortunately not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I really liked this recipe -- I'm glad I came across something like this since it is regularly so expensive in the store (5$ for a 1" slice). I made this recipe to precision but next time, I'll probably try something different with it since it seems to be a base recipe with a few extra herbs added. I'm thinking along the lines of curry powders and poultry spice mixes... even though I'm a vegetarian. I think this could very easily take on the smells and flavours of a Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice
Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States