Veggie Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I read through this and thought it sounded more like a good place to start, rather than a recipe that can stand alone well. So I added more veggies, like carrots, pea pods, broccoli, water chestnuts, onions, and baby corn, then enhanced the flavor by adding minced ginger root, which I think really made the dish, not to mention took the emphasis off the nasty-smelling oyster sauce. And it turned out absolutely faboo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
it was a great recipe but when u go to serve it mix in oyster sauce other wise it tastes really plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This dish was quite tasty. We added a bit more soy sauce, and also soy paste and sesame oil (available at Asian Grocers). We also added fried tofu, green onions and a can of water chestnuts. This dish was so yummy that we will add this to our monthly menu. I am sure the dish would be great as is, but we just wanted to add a few more items. BTW the amount of spice was just right. A bit of heat, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I really hate to rate a recipe so low. I followed this recipe exact except for adding some baby corn, a bit of sesame oil & a dash of hoisen sauce. This is not authentic vegetable lo mein, it reminded me of vegetable soup, without broth or flavor. There seemed to be too much of an overall broth taste, that was not appetizing at all. Maybe I could have saved this by really dousing it with soy sauce, but I just ended up tossing it out. This was not liked at all, I will not make this again, I'm sorry (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
Very quick but surprisingly good..very good base recipe especially for the simple flavor. I've made it twice now, once as posted, and once juiced up a bit on spices...both were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Like others have said, a good basic recipe. I wound up doubling the soy and oyster sauces, plus I substituted cornstarch for flour (and used more of it) so it wouldn't be so thin. I recommend undercooking your noodles slightly so that they can finish in the sauce without being overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I make lo mein dishes often but I have to say this one had no flavor what so ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great recipe. I used broccoli instead of bean sprouts and less cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
So good! Really fast, really easy, and it satisfied my craving for chinese food. I added some ginger and a little bit of basalmic vinegar since I didn't have oyster sauce. I'll definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
decent base recipe you can play with to suit your needs. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States