Veggie Lasagna Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was delicious. I made it for my vegetarian boyfriend and we were both thrilled with the result. I also used fresh (wilted) spinach, fresh mushrooms and added fresh basil instead of dried. I used full fat cottage cheese and I cheated a bit by using seasoned chunked tomatoes rather than just the plain crushed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I really enjoyed this lasagne, I added extra onion and garlic but this is just our personal taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used Ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. My husband loved this recipe! The most delicious lasagna ever! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CytoPanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this recipe just as it is written with no substitutions and it was wonderful! Next time I will use more spinach and cheese mixture just because my husband and I love spinach. There was quite a bit of sauce leftover but I think it is great to top off left overs. It did take me longer than 20 minutes to prepare but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this recipe once a few years ago and absolutely loved it. I thought I had lost the recipe but found it today folded in an old cookbook so I immediately logged on to add it to my favorites so it never can get lost again, and to leave a much derserved 5 star rating! I recall making a few substitutions as suggested by others: I doubled everything except for the sauce, used zucchini, yellow squash, broccoli, spinach, onion and mushrooms as the veggies and doubled the mozzarella (hey, I LOVE CHEESE!) and ricotta and added some red pepper flakes for some heat. I substituted the oregano with dried italian seasoning and I also did not bother pre-boiling the noodles - there is no reason! There is plenty of moisture with this amount of sauce to cook the noodles. For those of you that have wondered - it freezes well. I had plenty left over and cut into individual servings, wrapped in foil and froze with excellent results. I am so happy I found this recipe again! Fantastic recipe - even for meat lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hitchcock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the spinach/cheese mixture and used fresh mushrooms in the sauce. I also used fresh spinach (squeeze out the moisture) and ricotta in place of the cottage cheese. It fit nicely in a 10x14 pan. Those were great suggestions. Great recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This veggie lasagna is GREAT! I never really liked cottage cheese in lasagna, probably because it melts chunky. Blending in in the food processor with herbs is a great idea! The cheesy layer tasted like it was an expensive bocconcini or mascarpone cheese. What a great inexpensive way to add that to lasagna. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Substituted freshly sauted spinach and mushrooms from the frozen/canned varieties the recipe calls for. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheyenne
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
all i gotta say is DELICIOUS!! Use the recipe as a base and use veggies to your liking. I used: fresh mushrooms, fresh spinach, 1 yellow onion, 1 zucchini, 1 broccoli crown, 1 carrot, and 1 yellow squash. Definitely use fresh when you can. I also used ricotta cheese and Barilla no boil noodles work like a charm. I'm going to try eggplant next time. The prep time is about 45 minutes...depending on the cook. A great veggie dish everyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I'm sorry I don't like to give negative reviews, but I didn't care for this recipe. The spinach filling was too sparse, and the tomato sauce was overpowering. Maybe cooking it longer than 15 minutes and increasing the spinach filling would have helped. Also the veggies in the sauce almost disappeared. I might make it again with these changes. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States