Veggie Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I lacked a few ingredients, so substituted the green bell pepper for a red one, and replaced the red wine for vegetable stock. Also didn't have any whole canned tomatoes so I just used chopped ones. I omitted the sugar in the end, and used a bit more tomato puree for sweetness. Having read other reviews, I added about 1 tsp of carraway seeds, which was a great touch. I also added a handful of frozen green beans. I doubled the recipe and it made four standards size portions. This is a great dish that I will be making many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Yum! Easy to make also. I used Boca meatless ground burger instead of Quorn, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Fantastic! I did this recipe tonight and my partner loved it, even if he is not vegetarian! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
REALLY good! The only changes I made: I used a red pepper instead of green, because that's just what I had. And I forgot to add sugar at the end. But it was still really tasty and since I almost always have these ingredients at hand, I will definitely be making this quite often. I think the only change I'd make next time is I might perhaps use a wee bit less wine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
YUM!! Thanks for the recipe using Quorn - a product I use a lot. Using crumbles as others have done would make a completly different recipe than intended, try this with Quorn. It can be found in the freezer section of larger supermarkets, and health food stores (either in the meat substitute section, or the health food section.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Very good! I took out the oregano and added 1 tbl spoon Worcestershire sauce and used Quorn meat crumbles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlwiesner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made 4 servings of this recipe, and it tasted wonderful. Instead of the meat substitute listed, I used another one that was sold at Wild Oats. (I don't recall the brand, but it was a crumbly type of "meat" that looked like hamburger.) I also added caraway seeds, doubled the garlic, and added some pasta. We will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Used mushrooms over rice. Quick easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Carnivourous husband even liked this! I made lots of substitutions because I don't like peppers and was short on a few items, but this was really easy and tasty. Used Mushrooms and Zucchini instead of peppers and Morning Star Steak Strips because I'm not sure what this Quorn stuff is. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
So delicious! I made it using sliced fresh mushrooms instead of the Quorn, and served it over naan (indian flatbread). Hubby and I are fairly new to the vegetarian thing, and I was nervous that it wouldn't satisfy us. But it did! So delicious, the texture and combination of just enough spices were divine! This will definitely become a staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States