Veggie Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Yum! Easy to make also. I used Boca meatless ground burger instead of Quorn, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made 4 servings of this recipe, and it tasted wonderful. Instead of the meat substitute listed, I used another one that was sold at Wild Oats. (I don't recall the brand, but it was a crumbly type of "meat" that looked like hamburger.) I also added caraway seeds, doubled the garlic, and added some pasta. We will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe! Its nice to have vegetarian options for dishes that normally require meat. Used sliced mushrooms instead of mycoprotein. Added celery and green beans (used canned but im sure fresh would be tasty!)Also used 2 cloves of garlic and low-carb elbows. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
So delicious! I made it using sliced fresh mushrooms instead of the Quorn, and served it over naan (indian flatbread). Hubby and I are fairly new to the vegetarian thing, and I was nervous that it wouldn't satisfy us. But it did! So delicious, the texture and combination of just enough spices were divine! This will definitely become a staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Carnivourous husband even liked this! I made lots of substitutions because I don't like peppers and was short on a few items, but this was really easy and tasty. Used Mushrooms and Zucchini instead of peppers and Morning Star Steak Strips because I'm not sure what this Quorn stuff is. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a great vegetarian recipe, though like most reviewers I made it with mushrooms (portabella caps) instead of Quorn. As written, I thought it was missing a little something as I tasted it cooking. So I added more (LOTS more) paprika and a dash of cayenne (since I've never been able to find good hot Hungarian paprika). That added measurably, but it was still missing a note. Finally, when I reheated some leftovers, I added some caraway -- and that made the dish shine! NOTE: This recipe makes about double what I'd call "2 servings." YMMV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This pretty much tastes like Italian, what with the tomato and oregano and all. I do not know what Quorn is, so I substituted tofu using the following methodology: Press a block of extra firm tofu in a kitchen towel to get as much water out as possible. Cut into half inch cubes. Coat cubes in a mixture of 3T firmly packed brown sugar, 1T paprika, and 1/4t ground ginger powder. Bake in 400F oven on parchment until edges get firm. Mix into recipe where Quorn is used. Also, I used a can of "Pear tomato strips in puree and basil", Great Value brand from Wal-Mart, then left out the tomato puree addition. Served over spiral noodles. This was easy, satisfying, not too strange for my husband, so I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
we really liked this! I served it over buttered egg noodles and used crumbles for the protein. Next time, I will change the order of the MOP, though -- I would add things at different times, but really good all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Fantastic! I did this recipe tonight and my partner loved it, even if he is not vegetarian! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Used mushrooms over rice. Quick easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States