Veggie Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very Good. I love fajitas, but this recipe did not have much of a southwestern flare which I think a fajita should be. Since I did not have a fajita seasoning pakect, I used about a 1/4 tsp of red cayenne pepper, and approx 1/8-1/4 tsp of garlic salt, onion powder, paprika, ground sea salt, and ground roasted ancho chili powder. I also added an additional 1/2 tsp of lemon pepper after cooking the final 2 mintues in the instructions. For those that don't like spicy food, adding the additional spices did not make the hotness overbearing, likely due to the sour cream. Other condiments I served the fajitas with included store bought salsa, chopped tomatoes, and shredded cheddar cheese. Had I had an avocado I would have made guacamole. Oh, and for the spicy food lovers, I had a bottle of hot sauce on the table as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
this was very good as a filling for fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I'm not a huge fajita person, but I enjoyed this recipe. I had half of each of a red, yellow, green and orange bell pepper that needed used up so this recipe was perfect. I only had half a can of mushrooms but that was ok. Served with tortillas sour cream and salsa and sour cream mexican rice form this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was so easy and great tasting. I did not have mushrooms on hand, so I used zucchini instead. They turned out wonderful. I used a little cumin as suggested by another reader. It really added more flavor to the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Made exactly according to recipe (except I used baby portabello mushrooms). They were so simple, yet so tasty. Added cheese and sour cream, and they tasted just as good as fajitas at a restaurant. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Portobello mushrooms make the best fajitas...so much better than chicken. I make these for myself when my family has chicken fajitas, but I always add more onions, and I chop the mushrooms into nice big chunks for a meaty texture. Rather than use lemon pepper, I sprinkle the mushrooms with a mixture of garlic powder, chipotle, ancho chile powder and just a touch of salt before cooking. I cook them separate from the pepper/onion mixture so they brown nicely. I absolutely love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Excellent! Made these almost exactly according to the recipe. I used 3 garlic cloves instead of 2 (we like our garlic over here), and only used 2 peppers-one green, one yellow-so as to fit everything in the pan. We also chose to sautee everything in Pam olive oil spray to lighten up. We added salt and pepper and used a lot of the lemon pepper. We decided to add some black beans and sour cream, but honestly the fajitas would have been awesome without the addditions as well. We will make this again and again. It's very easy, quick, delicious and best of all HEALTHY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is an odd one, because I like complex recipes. When I looked at it, I tried it because it was easy, but as I was making it, I said to myself, "this is nothing, it is peppers and onions" and cooked it anyways. You know what...it was GREAT!! Total success in the fillings... The one complaint I have is that the ingredients did not mention tortillas. I ended up making an extra trip to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Good solid meal. Just put out a couple of different taco type fillers and boyfriends loved it. Next time I will use more mushrooms and onions and less peppers (would not fit in the pan!) Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
These were pretty good! The only things I did differently were add more mushrooms (I LOVE mushrooms and they really soak up the flavor ), cilantro, and I used real pepper and real lemon. I would for sure make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States