Veggie Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Finally, a chicken casserole that the kids actually like! I made a whole bunch of changes. First, we had no leftover chicken so i just poached some cut up chicken breasts and threw them in. Secondly, I added some onion-mushroom soup mix and butter to the rice as it was cooking. Also I subbed milk for the 2/3 cup of water.(We're trying to fatten up the little ones.) Also, I used canned string beans for the veggies.(Again because of the little ones) Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Good recipe but made a few changes, first I cooked up the chicken breasts and seasoned with garlic and pepper and salt. I also used a wild and white rice mixture. I put it all together with cheese instead of crackers and the kids and hubby ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
3 stars as-is, but here's how I tweaked it to 5: added some thyme, fresh ground black pepper, and a few splashes of worcestershire. Substituted cream of celery (reduced fat) for cream of chicken. Also used a mixture of white and wild rice for texture. For vegetables I used 1 small diced onion, frozen green beans, and a mix of frozen diced red & green peppers. (I threw them in to cook a bit with the chicken when it was almost done sauteeing.) Used cubed sauteed chicken breast, dusted with poultry seasoning while cooking. I found this recipe to be a little heavy on the meat for my taste, so I cut back on that. (Actually I cut the whole recipe in half for only 2 people, and used 1 large chicken breast for the meat.) Topped with buttered dry cornbread stuffing mix. This recipe is a great starting point for building a meal more specific to your family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This recipe was really enjoyed by my family. Instead of the frozen mixed veges, tho, I lightly cooked fresh cut veges in the water and tossed them into the mixture. I used leftover cooked chicken pieces. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Recipe didn't mention anything about cooking the chicken. I cooked mine and then added to casserole. Makes a huge amount. Good and simple but needs more flavor - definitely salt and pepper at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Great recipe! I changed some things because of what I had on hand (cream of mushroom soup, broccoli instead of mixed veggies) and added a little salt as well as extra cracker crumbs. My family loved it and thought, with the broccoli, it tasted like Cracker Barrel's Chicken, Cheese, and Broccoli dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This was a great recipe to use my leftover chicken and rice! I used cream of mushroom. The crackers were a great topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmmmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Yum! My whole family liked this casserole. I made it with turkey leftovers instead of chicken and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I can't believe this recipe has a 4.5 star rating--it was so bland. Luckily, I had all the ingredients on hand so I dont' feel like I wasted too much time or money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I tried to make it healthier by using reduced fat cream of chicken soup and brown rice; it was OK, but sort of bland. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States