Veggie Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was good, but maybe could have used a little seasoning added to the sauteed veggies. I didn't have the bread dough so I took individual biscuits and rolled them out with a rolling pin which actually made it the perfect size and worked great! Baked up nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
delish! Used Valentinos pizza crust from this site. the whole family loved these. It a great recipe for families with diff likes, we allowed each child to put whatever toppings they wanted inside. we even added cauliflower, and it was really good. great versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These were awesome, but I have to admit, I added ham. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
First time I've made or even eaten calzones and I was impressed. I made my own dough and only had 2 tomatoes to hand. I also used pizza sauce instead of the paste because I had some leftover. My daughter raved about these. Many Thanks Lee Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was good, but I didn't care for the filling too much...I thought the tomato paste was too strong. I will try this recipe again changing the filling...maybe a pizza sauce or tomato sauce not quite as strong as tomato paste. The frozen bread dough worked out great though...it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe! Out of frozen bread dough, but 3 frozen dinner rolls (dough) was just right for each calzone! (24 RHODES dinner rolls = ~2 lbs frozen bread dough) Added Italian sausage and chopped pepperoni for my meat eaters and they went together great! It was fun to assemble them. Our frozen ones reheated beautifully. Served with spaghetti sauce for dipping. Next time I'll add 2 T. Italian seasoning for more flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Great recipe! I did change a few things however. I left out the tomatoes but added squash and zucchini and black olives. I sauted the onions with garlic to make them soft, threw in the rest of the veggies and then used a jar of garlic basil spagetti sauce and thew in some red pepper flakes for some spice. I left out the cheese (trying to be healthy) and I used the Pilsbury Pizza Crust in a can (way easier) turned out PHENOMENAL! I try to cook something new every night but I'm already getting second requests for this one.. Next time I will add some spicy sausage to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Loved these! I made them quite some time ago and am just rating them now, but I can still remember how great these tasted! I didn't change anything in the recipe- I'll have to make these again. I bet artichoke hearts would taste really good in some sort of variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This is a great recipe. The calazones were full of flavor. We added pepperoni to a few of them and our whole family ate them right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejw825

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
So good Lee Ann! I did add my own seasonings and made my own crust, but other than that, these were senstional and perfect for all we mushroom lovers. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States