Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were really great. I like spicy so I used about 2 tsp. ground red pepper, 1 tsp. black pepper, 1 T. worcestershire sauce. I also froze the patties, separated by wax paper (I was unable to cook the day I prepared them). When I cooked them I did so in a skillet, if you do that do not dip in flour, the flour does not cook correctly. I did add 1/4 to 1/2 C flour to the recipe. Thanks for a great alternative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Not bad. I'm a vegan so I skipped the cheese and egg. They stayed together really well and smelled fabulous cooking. I found that the more I ate of my burger the flatter and flatter it got! It ended up creeping outside of my bun. My husband's a meat eater and said they were alright, but he wouldn't go out of his way for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Since being diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis, I have been on a search for a good veggie burger recipe. This is absolutley the best I've found.I omit the Olive oil and use a non-stick fry pan to cook the vegetables. The burgers hold together niceley and work well on the grill. They have a pleasing color and a nice "crunch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Love the texture, but they definitely need some spice or some type of seasoning. I added some cajun spice to mine. Also, I mixed in 1 cup of flour and used bread crumbs to bread them after shaping them. Washing my hands after forming 2 helped keep them from being too sticky. The recipe made 8 good sized patties for me. They froze really well, so I will be making a batch for the freezer to use up some veggies from the garden. Much better than the frozen ones you buy at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly. The burgers were cooked thoroughly but mushy in the middle and didn't have much flavor at all. Also they were quite a bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
As-is these burgers are bland and difficult to work with. I don't know how they got 4+ stars from others. However, I added more oatmeal, wheat flour, garlic, and lots of spice (mesquite & caribbean jerk) and then they were quote good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The recipe was excellent, and my daughter had to see the recipe because she loved them. than you Roberta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is a really simple, good recipe for veggie burgers. I made only a couple small changes: I didn't have cheddar, so I subbed Monterrey jack and I used a rolled grain mix (oats, wheat, barley). Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This burger was fantastic! My fridge was getting a little "bare" and after seeing this recipe, I decided to use up the last of the veggies that were in there...carrots, zucchini, well-minced broccoli, onion, garlic, etc. I sauteed everything, put in a big squirt of ranch dressing, some dashes of hot sauce, and adjusted salt and pepper. I semi-ground the oatmeal and added about 1/4 c of wheat germ and let it all "sit" for about 20 minutes. I found no need for egg or flour. The burgers are presently cooking on my cast-rom skillet with just a smidge of oil, and my toddler keeps coming over, asking for more "burger". This kid neve reats veggies, so this recipe is a GEM for our family. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
a true great veggie burger 1ST class i am not a major fan of them but i get in the mood for one this is how it should be. when you get those ones in the store that at stuff to attempt a meat flavor are so bad that you can stuff them in the toilet and not no the diff. if you catch my drift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States