Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by LilMama84
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I combined this recipe with one I found online for original Gardenburgers, so I left out the zucchini and squash, and added shiitake mushrooms, cottage cheese, and cooked brown rice. Also, I used some italian breadcrumbs, more soy sauce, and a can of garbanzo beans. My husband and I aren't huge on the black bean-based burgers, so this recipe was awesome and easy to customize! I cooked these on the George Foreman grill and they came out perfect and didn't fall apart at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The recipe is a good "starter" for a veggie burger. First of all, if you cook them in a skillet (with a turn of olive oil), they will completely fall apart. I am trying a second batch, making the patties a LOT smaller, and thinner to avoid the breaking apart, and it's not working. I also added more egg and that didnt work either.. They WILL fall apart and not stay in a "patty" (unless you completely immerse them in olive oil, which is not my idea of a healthy veggie burger). Secondly, it needs seasoning. They are bland. If bland is what you are looking for, then don't add any spices. If you want flavor, add more salt. You can't taste the garlic- so add some zip of your choice. Lastly, this clearly does NOT taste like a burger.. I dont want people to be mislead.. It IS a veggie burger and will not "mock" the taste of a hamburger. All in all, they are quite delicious if you tweek the recipe a bit. I am doing CORE for weight watchers, so its a great staple to have. You will need to play with the recipe a bit to get it to your exact liking.. Like I said, good starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These are my granddaughter's favorite after school snack. They are requested so often that I make several batches, cook ahead of time and freeze them. We love them just as they are, but if you prefer a spicier burger, just add your favorite seasonings. Thank you Jen for this delicious, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These had great flavor. We had a little trouble with the burgers falling apart, I think there was too much moisture so we tried to add a little more flour to the mix. We ended up giving up on the grill because they were falling apart and finished them in a pan and they were very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Taste good but crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Interesting! I never knew that you could make a meatless burger from oatmeal. This was good for me since the stores I shop at don't carry mock-meat products. Made up a "tester" version last week using what little ingredients we had in the house (just the carrots, onion, oats and soy), and it was surprisingly not bad! Although next time I'll have to add a little more seasoning and veggies to my burger since the tester came out a little bland. But I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Good burgers, though as the last reviewer suggested you will need to add your own sauce and spices for flavoring. These are a good starting point for your own creative ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great flavor, though had problems peeling the veg-burger off the grill (no home-made veggie burger I've ever seen works on a grill, including this one. They stick & begin to break up, spray notwithstanding). Took them inside to my cast iron pan, film of oil and medium heat, 5 minutes on each side ... and they held together pretty well. Flavor hint: avoid the blandness of zucchini - don't be afraid to add some kosher salt to the mix, plus 1 Tbs good worcestershire sauce (though strict vegetarians will want to leave this out due to anchovies in this sauce). Lastly, I used smoked mozzarella and some pine nuts. Again, great flavor, fairly easy to do, and the oats-veggie combo worked well. I only wish you better luck if you use a BBQ or gas grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made these for dinner tonight and all four of my picky eaters ate them even my husband who hates veggie burgers. This is my first attempt at making veggie burgers and they were easy and had a wonderful flavor. I did add flour, only 1/2 cup, to the mix before refrigerating as one review suggested. They were a little mushy in the middle and a little sticky so next time I am going to try adding more oats. Healthy and delicious burgers, definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I am a confirmed meat-eater, but my husband is vegetarian, and we BOTH love these! After a disastrous and inedible attempt at making black bean burgers once, I wasn't sure how this kind of veggie burger would turn out, but they taste GREAT. They fall apart more easily than a hamburger, sure, but that probably has a lot to do with how I always forget to squeeze the moisture out of the carrots and zucchini (important step!). I definitely recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a healthy, delicious meatless burger. Very tasty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States