Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very pleased with the texture of these burgers, and am so glad to have found a usable recipe for homemade veggie burgers! The mix was very sticky to work with, and gave doubts as to whether they would stay together, but the cooking was actually really easy and went well. They stayed together perfectly on the grill, and browned nicely. The flavor was lacking something for me (I like bland, non-spicy food so it wasn't that), so I will have to experiment with different veggies in the future (peppers, mushrooms, etc). My husband wants to add spices next time for his as he felt the flavor was good but too bland for him. Overall - great base recipe that's super easy and has an awesome texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Very good recipe. I made it as written, except that I added some baby bella mushrooms and also some Worcestershire sauce and red pepper flakes. I food processed all the veggies before sauteing, and this helped make a consistent texture. Was worried the oats would stick out, texture-wise. But it turned out great. I would NOT say they taste like hamburgers--at least not to my meat-accustomed taste. But a very good veggie burger nonetheless. They were a little bland (what do you expect from a bunch of vegetables mushed together?), but with A-1 sauce on top, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These were soo good, but I did spice them up a bit with Stacey's Hamburger Seasoning recipe. I threw the oats into the food processor to make a flour, and only chopped the veggies then threw them into the food processor before sauteing. I mixed the seasoning with the oatmeal then mixed as the recipe states and chilled overnight. I got six patties using my hamburger press but I omitted the AP flour completely. They are very sticky, but I had no trouble handling them and they held together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These veggie burgers were awesome! I was actually looking for a bean-based recipe when I stumbled across this one and decided to try it. I thought the texture was great and they tasted incredible. I didn't have any summer squash on hand so I used 2 zucchini instead, added a pinch of salt and sprinkled some adobo seasoning into the mixture. After reading some of the reviews, I was afraid that I was going to have trouble grilling them but they actually grilled up really well! I wonder if the people who had trouble with this recipe used instant or quick oats instead of old fashioned oats... Thanks for a great recipe Jen! I look forward to making these again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Pretty good first veggie burger experience. They didn't have a whole lot of flavor and were mushy, but at the same time, they aren't supposed to taste like a hambuger at all. Only comment I have is, instead of cooking them on the grill, I just did them in a skillet because reviews said they would fall apart on the grill. The flour created a good browning surface and I was pleased with how they turned out in the skillet. Not my favorite recipe, but still a great recipe to try for something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
great recipe! I added some mushrooms and some of the flour to the mixture to thicken it up. Love how the soy sauce flavored them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlpicanso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilMama84
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I combined this recipe with one I found online for original Gardenburgers, so I left out the zucchini and squash, and added shiitake mushrooms, cottage cheese, and cooked brown rice. Also, I used some italian breadcrumbs, more soy sauce, and a can of garbanzo beans. My husband and I aren't huge on the black bean-based burgers, so this recipe was awesome and easy to customize! I cooked these on the George Foreman grill and they came out perfect and didn't fall apart at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The recipe is a good "starter" for a veggie burger. First of all, if you cook them in a skillet (with a turn of olive oil), they will completely fall apart. I am trying a second batch, making the patties a LOT smaller, and thinner to avoid the breaking apart, and it's not working. I also added more egg and that didnt work either.. They WILL fall apart and not stay in a "patty" (unless you completely immerse them in olive oil, which is not my idea of a healthy veggie burger). Secondly, it needs seasoning. They are bland. If bland is what you are looking for, then don't add any spices. If you want flavor, add more salt. You can't taste the garlic- so add some zip of your choice. Lastly, this clearly does NOT taste like a burger.. I dont want people to be mislead.. It IS a veggie burger and will not "mock" the taste of a hamburger. All in all, they are quite delicious if you tweek the recipe a bit. I am doing CORE for weight watchers, so its a great staple to have. You will need to play with the recipe a bit to get it to your exact liking.. Like I said, good starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These are my granddaughter's favorite after school snack. They are requested so often that I make several batches, cook ahead of time and freeze them. We love them just as they are, but if you prefer a spicier burger, just add your favorite seasonings. Thank you Jen for this delicious, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These had great flavor. We had a little trouble with the burgers falling apart, I think there was too much moisture so we tried to add a little more flour to the mix. We ended up giving up on the grill because they were falling apart and finished them in a pan and they were very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States