Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is an excellent veggie burger go to that stays away from the usual "bean" patty. To make the recipe vegan, use nutritional yeast for the cheese, flax seed mixed with water for the eggs, and change the regular flour to whole wheat. I use whatever veggies I have available and find the flavor and texture to be A+ every time! Leave out the Soy sauce if you're cutting back on salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipe is quite good. I made a few modifications that improved it tremendously. As others have stated it was dry, so doubled the binding ingredients - eggs and olive oil. Instead of flour, I coated the patties in bread crumbs and I added a lot of cumin for flavor. Grilled each side for about 5 minutes on medium heat. This was a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I squeezed the juice from the veggies before cooking them. I also used left over quinoa, which is a protein grain great for use when replacing meat, and a left over baked potato grated instead of the oats. I also used muenster cheese. I substituted the soy sauce for Braggs liquid amino acids (very similar) and instead of flour I used nutritional yeast. I would suggest cooking on med.to med. high and letting them stay for several minutes on each side. I must say that homemade was much better than any of the frozen ones I have had and my husband was very impressed. I plan to make many of these from the things in my garden and freezing them for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
These were great! My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Wow! Great veggie burger. Easy and such a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was my first attempt at making veggie burgers and they were awesome! Great texture, fried up nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
My first time making a veggie burger and I was pleasantly surprised - very tasty and great texture (unlike bean burgers). Changes: no carrot and I added spinach, mushrooms and roasted red bell peppers. I put all veggies in the food processor and sauteed the mix altogether (worked out perfectly). Used more oats than it called for (for consistency/texture) and added worchestshire & some smokey grill seasoning. Probably would have been OK to leave out the cheese (since I put cheese on top), but it certainly didn't hurt. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I really didn't know what to expect with these but they are great! - I only used half a zucchini and no squash(cause they are out of season and kind of expensive right now). - I also only used 1/2 cup of flour to form the patties and that was enough. - I put about a cup of cheddar cheese cause I LOVE cheese! - I added 2 tablespoons of ground coriander, 2 tablespoons of ground cumin, 1 tablespoon of turmeric, a dash of cayenne pepper and a dash of salt since everyone said it was kind of bland. I still kept the soya sauce in the recipe thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thormeena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Might I start off by saying that I am not a vegetarian but my daughter wanted to try being a veggie for 1 week to see how she would like it so I have decided to go along with her. i did not have olive oil so i used butter to saute the squash and carrots and onions I omitted the garlic cloves because i didnt have any. (my daughter says there are to many things that call for butter and eggs so she has decided for herself she will allow those) I also added the steak grinder seasoning and some garlic powder anyway since it is winter here in my area grilling is out of the question so I added a little bit of oil to my pan and fried them till golden brown. I am impressed this was my first time trying something this different and i loved it thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Tart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Holy Cow...well, no cow but still the best darn burger I have ever had! I have tried several recipes trying to find that perfect veggie burger and this one here is a winner...even amongst my carnivore friends. Truly, these are amazing. I omitted the carrots and yellow squash and just went with 2 mid. zucchini. I opted out of the flour breading and instead used 1/2 c Italian Panko bread crumbs with 1/2 c reg. bread crumbs. I cooked mine on a cookie sheet in 350 oven for 5 min ea side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States