Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I really didn't know what to expect with these but they are great! - I only used half a zucchini and no squash(cause they are out of season and kind of expensive right now). - I also only used 1/2 cup of flour to form the patties and that was enough. - I put about a cup of cheddar cheese cause I LOVE cheese! - I added 2 tablespoons of ground coriander, 2 tablespoons of ground cumin, 1 tablespoon of turmeric, a dash of cayenne pepper and a dash of salt since everyone said it was kind of bland. I still kept the soya sauce in the recipe thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thormeena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Might I start off by saying that I am not a vegetarian but my daughter wanted to try being a veggie for 1 week to see how she would like it so I have decided to go along with her. i did not have olive oil so i used butter to saute the squash and carrots and onions I omitted the garlic cloves because i didnt have any. (my daughter says there are to many things that call for butter and eggs so she has decided for herself she will allow those) I also added the steak grinder seasoning and some garlic powder anyway since it is winter here in my area grilling is out of the question so I added a little bit of oil to my pan and fried them till golden brown. I am impressed this was my first time trying something this different and i loved it thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Tart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Holy Cow...well, no cow but still the best darn burger I have ever had! I have tried several recipes trying to find that perfect veggie burger and this one here is a winner...even amongst my carnivore friends. Truly, these are amazing. I omitted the carrots and yellow squash and just went with 2 mid. zucchini. I opted out of the flour breading and instead used 1/2 c Italian Panko bread crumbs with 1/2 c reg. bread crumbs. I cooked mine on a cookie sheet in 350 oven for 5 min ea side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I am trying to eat healthier, when I saw this receipe I thought it would be good to try, I really like it. I made them up and frooze them and now I reheat them and have them for lunch. Thanks for this good receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I am a vegetarian for many years, my husband a meat lover. I made these burgers tonight for dinner and he loved them!!! They fell apart a little on the grill, I may add more beaten egg next time to hold them together. But they taste great, very filling, my husband said this was a "keeper"...I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I was really excited to try this recipe after all the rave reviews. I had a very difficult time working with the mixture, though, even after refrigerating for 24 hours. I omitted the soy sauce, as I've been using that an awful lot for seasoning lately...added some parmesan cheese, black pepper, and salt instead. Clearly this was not enough, because my first test patty was very bland. Added more cheese/salt/pepper and it seemed to be better the second time. I think I will try baking on a cookie sheet next time for more uniformity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These are amazing! What a great recipe, I plan to make again and again. I followed exactly except used 2 yellow squashes instead of zucchini. I plan to try substituting different recipes. When I first mixed it and made patties it seemed like it wouldn't hold together but they cooked up perfectly and have a great consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've used this as my go-to recipe for veggie burgers since the first time I made these. I followed MOMOFFOUR's advice, and put a half cup wheat flour in the veggie mix before refrigeration, and it helps with the consistency. I also keep it in the fridge overnight, and make each patty with cold, wet hands. (I like to keep a large bowl of ice water next to the bowl of ground veggies to cut down time) I've frozen these many times, but found that the best way is to spray a cookie sheet with non-stick spray, line it with wax paper, and lay the patties on it as they are shaped. cover it with another sheet of wax paper, and put in the freezer for a couple hours. When they're frozen, take them off the pan, and put them in a large freezer ziplock bag. It cuts down on labor time and saves wax paper/plastic wrap. This recipe can easily and succesfully be made vegan by replacing the egg with 1/4c blended silken tofu, and omitting the cheese. I added some extra liquid smoke to help cover up any flavor it might have brought, and they were excellent. surprisingly enough, the consistency was better with the vegan version; the patties stayed together much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I don't know what the hype is about these. I followed the recipe perfectly. They were bland and after a few bites the texture was gross. I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 because at least they were edible. I was raised vegetarian, so I know what a good veggie burger should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Well, taking in to consideration, everyones suggestions, I put it hot pepper jack cheese, no summer squash, put all the rest of the veggies in a food processor.....and used egg beaters southwest recipe. OK, liked the hint of spraying with olive oil, so as not to stick. I like the frozen veggie burgers, these were alot of work....but promising for the nutritional value..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vera Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States