Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Both my husband and I really liked these veggie burgers. I didn't have any problems with "stickiness" and actually just patted them with a little flour and threw them directly on the grill without even refrigerating them first (was rushing and hungry). I will admit to adding about twice as much cheese as called for in the recipe. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
I thought these were quite good. The true test was when even the "meat only" and the "I don't eat burgers" girls ate them and declared, "Hey, these are good!!!" I've tried several fast food and packaged "Veggie Burgers" and found them to be either too spicy or have too much filler. I read some of the reviews first so I wasn't surprised to find the mixture somewhat sticky. This could be because some of the 1 1/2 cups of flour should have been included in the mixture since there is far too much of it to simply dip 8 patties in, 1/2 a cup of flour is plenty for that purpose. I sprinkled about 3/4 of a cup of flour into the mixture which removed the stickiness. I used only zucchini since summer squash was unavailable the first time and way too expensive when it was available. A little grated red pepper added some "great" colour and flavour. These will be an added favourite to "Burger Night".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
EXCELLENT! Very good. I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper, black pepper, kosher salt and garlic salt. It added great flavor. Also I recomment using medium cheddar cheese for an extra bit. As everyone previously mentioned, I had a little hesitation about handling the burgers. The mix was pretty sticky, but I let the patties sit for about 15minutes and popped them on my George Foreman Grill. The turned out great. I'm recommending them to my family and friends, especially if they've gone the store bought route. Thank you for sharing! :o) :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was my second time trying to make veggie burgers (my first attempt - different recipe - failed miserably). Fortunately these turned out wonderful. I think next time I will add some chopped up mushrooms and Montreal Steak spice to give them that added burger flavour! They held up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is an excellent recipe for making homemade veggie burgers. I've made this many times and everyone loves the crunch of the oats (rather than beans like most veggie burger recipes call for). I make extra and use whole wheat flour to coat and cook each patty, wrap it in plastic, put them in a ziploc bag, and store them in the freezer. then i take them out and heat them on the pan when i want to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I love this recipe!! It's a bit of work but well worth it. I've made this recipe 3 times, and the last time I trippled it! I froze some of the cooked patties, wrapping them individually in plastic wrap. Now I just have to pop one in the microwave for 30 seconds and voila, dinner! I don't have a broiler pan so I just placed them on sheets. I also had trouble with the flouring the patties so I omit this step and cook as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Good recipe - I added 1/4 cup more oats and, since I was in a hurry, put the mixture in the freezer for about 20 minutes instead of the fridge. Had no problem with excess moisture or crumbling or falling apart. I mixed everything in my food proccessor. I placed my hands in the flour first before handling the mixture to make patties - really helped, no stickiness. The burgers tasted bland to me, even though I used a lot of garlic and Italian seasoning. But I love spicy food, so it's no wonder to me that they tasted bland. Think I'll try mixing in some ketchup or a little tomato sauce next time to give them more flavor. I like these! Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My whole family loved these, which is a miracle. I sauted the mixture longer to get the moisture out so they were easy to handle. Would definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This sounded so good but sadly, it wasn't. I think it needed a little more flavor - not sure what though. Per other reviews, I let it refrigerate for longer and was generous with the flour but they still fell apart. I'm not ready to give up on veggie burgers but I didn't have much success with this one. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Well, I wish I could go along with all the raves but I found these to be pretty bland even though I followed the recipe exactly. Add that to all the difficulty in handling as others mentioned and I'm hesitant to make them again. Perhaps some additional seasoning to add more flavor and longer chilling so they hold together better. It was quite a mess trying to form the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States