Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I love this recipe!! It's a bit of work but well worth it. I've made this recipe 3 times, and the last time I trippled it! I froze some of the cooked patties, wrapping them individually in plastic wrap. Now I just have to pop one in the microwave for 30 seconds and voila, dinner! I don't have a broiler pan so I just placed them on sheets. I also had trouble with the flouring the patties so I omit this step and cook as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Good recipe - I added 1/4 cup more oats and, since I was in a hurry, put the mixture in the freezer for about 20 minutes instead of the fridge. Had no problem with excess moisture or crumbling or falling apart. I mixed everything in my food proccessor. I placed my hands in the flour first before handling the mixture to make patties - really helped, no stickiness. The burgers tasted bland to me, even though I used a lot of garlic and Italian seasoning. But I love spicy food, so it's no wonder to me that they tasted bland. Think I'll try mixing in some ketchup or a little tomato sauce next time to give them more flavor. I like these! Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My whole family loved these, which is a miracle. I sauted the mixture longer to get the moisture out so they were easy to handle. Would definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This sounded so good but sadly, it wasn't. I think it needed a little more flavor - not sure what though. Per other reviews, I let it refrigerate for longer and was generous with the flour but they still fell apart. I'm not ready to give up on veggie burgers but I didn't have much success with this one. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Well, I wish I could go along with all the raves but I found these to be pretty bland even though I followed the recipe exactly. Add that to all the difficulty in handling as others mentioned and I'm hesitant to make them again. Perhaps some additional seasoning to add more flavor and longer chilling so they hold together better. It was quite a mess trying to form the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I tried putting the oatmeal in the blender first to give it a smoother texture. Added soy sauce, a boullion cube, and some fresh parmesan as well as some italian seasoning and celery salt. Flavor was good but the mix really needed to lose more moisture before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
VERY GOOD!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
What great veggie burgers! I've tried most brands on the market and these were so much better. Quick hand rinses between each patty remedied the stickiness problem other reviewers suffered. I used finely chopped broccoli instead of yellow squash: yummy. I also added salt, pepper and a few dashes of ground cayenne pepper before shaping the patties. The veggie-to-oats ratio was ideal; no mushiness, no crumbling. I can't wait to make them again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I served these at a casual cookout, and everyone loved them, even my meat-and-potatoes husband, and some of the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This was the first time I made veggie burgers from scratch...and boy were they good. I used a food processor to finely shred/grate the veggies, and I didn't have any zuchini squash, so I used celery. It worked fine, they are indeed hard to handle...long refrigeration is the key I think, and use the flour generously on your board..don't handle too long. They cooked up great and flipped without crumbling (which was my biggest fear). My two year old ate it up. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States