Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this recipe as written and covered my hands in whole wheat flour as I formed the patties and didn't have any problem with stickiness. I cooked half of the recipe in a skillet. With the other half of the mixture I added bbq sauce (about 1/2 cup) and while it was sticky it wasn't a problem. I found the burgers without the bbq sauce to be o.k.--not bad but not something I would eat alone without a bun. The bbq ones were much better. I put mine between two peices of whole wheat bread smeared with mayo, more bbq sauce and two pickle stackers. It was PHENOMENAL! My three year old had hers served with out the bun with a piece of melted cheese on top and said she liked it but only ate half. I would serve them to her again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These were so good! I added about 1/2 cup extra oats and the mix was still a bit difficult to work with so I just added some bread crumbs (about 1/2 cup) and that problem was solved. Also coated the patties with bread crumbs instead of flour. I took the recommendation of a previous reviewer and added Montreal steak seasoning (about a tablespoon). It was perfect. Even my husband, a hamburger connoisseur, said they were "super good". That's sayin' something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I love these Burgers. I did add more seasoning to the recipe depending on who Im cooking for. Chilli sauce or BBQ sauce with the Soy sauce is well worth a try too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I am trying to become vegeterian and this recipe is my kids favorite. To add flavor I added 1/4 cup of parsley or cilantro, also used wheat flour or oat as it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Made these last night for an easy dinner and everyone loved them. I got six burgers out of the mix, not eight. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I really enjoyed these.They were a great substitution for meat and very tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kecius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Great. I did end up making about 4 times what the recipes called for. I added 8x as much garlic, 4x onion, a little cayene pepper, and MRS Dash original seasoning. Used only zuchini. I did add tofu for protein and used bread crumbs instead of flour. They look like when you put them together, my husband thought I was joking when I said we were going to eat them. But I sprayed tin foil with nonstick and placed on the grill-perfection! Us grownups loved them, kids not sold, but will learn to love em since I am going to make again. My husband suggested a terriyaki sauce with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was a great recipe! Everyone in my house loved it. My middle boy is extremely picky and the mere thought of a veggie causes panic and fight from him. He gobbled it up happily, though. I added a bit more soy sauce and some garlic, salt, and pepper for taste. You'll definitely want a food processor, though, because it would take a lot of work otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
The taste was great. The eggs I had on hand were really old so I tried the standard soy flour/water egg substitute but it didn't keep these together; they really fell apart. Friends still loved them though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
My bf & I LOVE these! I didn't think they were tasteless at all - we both really enjoyed the taste. I've made these dozens of times by now. I don't follow exact measurements, just add whatever I have on hand (sometimes no summer squash, just carrot & zucchini) and until the mixture forms nice patties. To those of you who's patties are sticky, add more oats; to those who have dry patties, add more veggies. Use common sense - add more or less of whatever you like, and get the consistency right by varying amounts of wet vs dry ingredients. I bread with breadcrumbs instead of flour. I also usually add nutritional yeast & breadcrumbs and sometimes add ground flax & wheat germ to the mixture (can't taste it or tell the difference without, so why not add some additional nutrition?). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States