Vegetarian White Bean 'Alfredo' with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I liked the flavor of this a lot. It's much healthier and packs protein. The texture of the sauce wasn't as appealing. Next time I'll puree all of the beans, milk, sauteed garlic, spices/s/p, and maybe some silken tofu in a food processor before simmering it. I would like it to be thick and very creamy. The idea of using beans in a sauce is great, and I'll definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My daughter is 14 and is experimenting with vegetarian meals. The taste was good, but texture with shells of the Navy beans did not make it appealing. Next time I will puree the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
nice but use real milk the soy tastes funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was a bit apprehensive about pasta with beans, but it turned out to be a pretty good, quick, and easy recipe with just a few modifications. I used what I had on hand: fresh linguine, steamed broccoli, and a can of navy beans. To make the sauce, I gently sauteed the garlic in olive oil and then added the beans, which I did not drain all the way. The beans tasted nothing like alfredo and they were pretty bland, so I added a bit of curry and lemon juice to the beans as they warmed. I did not like the sound of adding milk, so I incorporated a bit of the pasta water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonnaNaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is very good - my kids really like it. I made it twice so far, and the second time I pureed all of the beans (the kids didn't eat the whole beans the first time). Also I used regular 2 percent milk instead of soy and it tasted better to us. This is going into regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
For those who don't care for the soy milk, rice or almond milk may be substituted. Vegans can replace the butter with Earth Balance non-dairy spread, and use the many non-dairy "cheeses" available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was so creamy and wonderful. I added some grated parmesan on top and some black pepper and red pepper flakes. Delicious and definitely a keeper! Made me feel not so guilty about making alfredo and could be a good way to sneak some beans into a kiddo's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This tasted great! To me, almost exactly like alfredo, but much healthier. I substituted almond milk for the soy, and coconut oil for the butter and it came out delicious. I blended the "alfredo" up with a hand blender... The consistency was perfect. This is an excellent recipe for anyone, but of special interest to those veg*ns who are looking for a good alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Made this last night and my daughter and I liked it alot. It is a little on the bland side so we were generous with the salt and peeper. I also added some chopped fresh parsley. We were out of soy milk, so I used reconstituted dry milk. As some of the other reviewers said, it is a thin sauce, so I thickened it with a flour/water mixture for a truer "Alfredo" texture. We served this with a side vegetable and a salad so we left out the asparagus, but it still tasted very good. My daughter begged for the leftovers for lunch today and it tasted even better - definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This sauce is great. This will be a regular in my house. I did pureed it and I like it much better. I also added a onion with the garlic and fresh parsley at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States