Vegetarian White Bean 'Alfredo' with Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This really doesn't taste anything like alfredo but it has become one of my favorite recipes! I make it with regular milk instead of soy milk and green beans instead of asparagus. I just love the white bean sauce. And you get some protein too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Taste good, consistancy thick and not smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
We love Alfredo, so I was excited to try this recipe. The first time around I didn't think too much of it, however I'm happy that I gave it a second try. I used evaporated low fat milk per one of the reviewers suggestions & (by accident) used two cans of cannellini beans which thickened the sauce nicely. I did blend the beans to a puree before adding to the garlic. It passed a picky 5 year old's test, so I'm keeping this one in rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
It was good for bean lovers. It didn't turn our as creamy or buttery as I had hoped and I used my food processor to thoroughly puree my beans before I added them. I would eat it again but wouldn't serve it to my boys as they are not bean fans and it didn't fool them one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I increased the amount of beans to 3 cups and used unsweetened almond milk, 2 cups. I still didn't have enough sauce for an entire pound of pasta. I also added quite a bit more garlic and a lot of salt and pepper. I enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Surprisingly delicious! I couldn't help but add a little parmesean cheese, and I was skeptical about a bean sauce. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
My husband likes this. This is a great, healthy alternative to Alfredo, and it's vegan if you use soy milk & vegan margarine (I use Blue Bonnet Light Spread). It does need a bit more seasoning though and less milk. I like to add lemon pepper, crushed red pepper and oregano. I also used zucchini & yellow squash instead of asparagus to cut down cost. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
It was bad. It was not like Alfredo at all. We were able to eat it with a lot of salt but will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is really good, but the calories posted are WAY off. I scaled the butter back by half and used fat free evaporated milk (comes in 12 oz cans, so it's perfect!) instead of the soy, but the calories I got in my calorie tracker (myfitnesspal.com, looooove it) said 427, only 14 calories different than the 441 listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
For health reasons, I have been recently eating a mostly vegetarian diet and avoiding dairy. I've been trying to find recipes that my family and I can both eat, without me having to make 2 separate meals. This recipe was quite good. I used Bestlife buttery spread instead of the butter, and Trader Joe's Orgnanic Whole Grain Drink instead of soy milk. I didn't have a whole package of pasta, so I used one 15 oz can of navy beans and 1 cup of the grain drink. I pureed them both together to make it all smooth, because I knew there was no way my kids would go for the beans. (I also left out the asparagus and served broccoli on the side.) My 12 yr old son's favorite meal is shrimp alfredo linguine; I didn't use shrimp this time, but he liked the pasta! He had no clue that the sauce was made of beans! As far as that goes, my husband didn't suspect anything either. Taste-wise, I personally would give this 3 or 3.5 stars, but if this can fool the pasta lover in my household, then it gets 4 stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States