Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Boothc
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
AMAZING! quick and easy and not to mention healthy and filling! i added 1 16 oz can of black beans as well and instead of 1/2 can of diced tomatoes i added 3 fresh diced ones a a 6 oz can of tomato paste. of course topped it off with some shredded cheddar and sour cream. yummmm!! highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boothc
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
i make a lot of quick soups and i really love the enchilada sauce for the base for the recipe, but that is the best part. i doubled up on most of the seasonings and used real chicken, but there just wasn't enough to the soup. i may reuse the recipe as a base in the future, but add much more stuff to it to achieve the texture and flavor i like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Reminded me of a mediocre bowl of runny chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was super easy and yummy. The reviews that said the soup tastes better the next day are completely right. Good the 1st day and great the next day. I did add a dash of cinnamon, a little extra garlic, cumin, and chili powder. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Super yummy, easy peasy and healthy. 5 stars from me. Added a can of refried beans to thicken it and some rice too. Topped with cheese and avocado. De-lish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grkgdss00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I ADDED CHICKEN AND COOKED IT ALL DAY IN THE CROCK POT. PUT A TORTILLA ON TOP WITH SOUR CREAM AND CHEDDER. ROCKIN GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
So darn good! I doubled the recipe and I'll be eating soup for a week... not that I'm complaining, because it's delicious. I used chicken broth instead of veggie, and used one can of pinto beans and one can of chili beans, undrained, which I think added a nice flavor to it. The enchilada sauce is fairly salty, so I didn't find that it needed any extra salt. It's fabulous with shredded cheddar on top! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
DELICIOUS! I made a few changes to the recipe. I used fire-roasted diced tomatoes, canned corn instead of frozen, and substituted black beans for the pinto beans. Also, sauteed some onions & bell peppers before adding the enchilada sauce and vegetable broth (instead of the bouillon cube). Omitted the veg chicken (can't stand fake meat products), and didn't use tortillas. Garnished with crumbled up tortilla chips, light sour cream & lots of cilantro. The carnivorous boyfriend loved it. Will definitely make again (and again, and again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very tasty. I thought it could use with a bit more heft, though, so I swapped the vegetal bouillon for beef bouillon and gave it a bit more flavor. Obviously this makes the dish non-vegetarian but if you are like me, eating vegetarian solely for health purposes, you will like this change as you still get all of the veggie goodness just with a touch more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Amazing! My sister's boyfriend who practically refuses to eat anything without meat said it was the best soup he's ever tried.. So that says a lot! It was super easy and I will be making it again very soon, went super fast so didn't even get a chance for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleDanielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States