Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
We have loved this recipe and have made it on a weekly basis since trying it a few weeks ago! We also used red enchilada sauce since we could not find green that was vegetarian and used black soy beans as the beans. Also, we used veggie crumbles instead of the veggie chicken and sauteed that with an onion before adding the corn and beans. Also, we left out the tortilla and topped it with shredded cheese. Delicious and super simple recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was great!! I couldn't find green enchilada sauce so I used red... we were all nearly in tears because it was so spicy, but it still tasted great! I used morningstar farms vegetarian 'chicken' strips (which I love in nearly anything!) and I added extra tortillas. Thanks for the great recipe!!!! ***************update: one night while making this, I added a can of refried beans on a whim.. it was great!! Great soup all around, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a easy dish to make. When I can't find green enchilada sauce, I make the recipe with red enchilada sauce and a small can of green chilies. We had this last night --love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Used red enchilada sauce because it was cheaper and spicier. Ate out of bread bowls but would also be good with some frence bread chunks stirred in. Awesome recipe, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This recipe was delicious! I used red enchilada sauce instead of green, and mixed in a can of green chilis with the beans and corn. Quick, easy and inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was one of the easiest things I've ever cooked...and the best part is that everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was wonderful. My 7 and 5 year olds even enjoyed this. Will be making again. I may even add some black olives next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was delicious and very easy! I used much more vegetarian broth (canned or from a carton) to make it more like a soup. Kids and non-vegetarian husband all loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Absolutely delicious! Quick and easy to make. You'd never know by tasting it, just how easy it was to make. I substituted canned vegetarian veggie broth instead of the bouillon cube and water as I had the cans handy. I did add veggie turkey (couldn't find chicken at my store) and it really gave it a nice texture. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I have made this twice, and it was yummy both times. I used black beans instead of pinto beans and red enchilada sauce as I could not find green. I have used flour tortillas instead of corn due to personal preference, and I don't put the tortilla in until I'm ready to eat it. Super yummy, and it's a great veggie meal to add to our regular rotation of dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States