Vegetarian Tortilla Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was fantastic!!! I used chicken bouillon and extra chili powder since I had no cumin. Also added finely diced garlic and onions and skipped the garlic powder. Added some lime for kick. I also added chopped corn tortilla before reducing, the tortillas disintegrated and gave it an extra thickness and heartyness. I add chopped tortilla on it right before serving for "the look". LOVED IT!! I let the soup reduce for a couple of hours to make it thick and hearty. It was so easy to make a absolutely delicious. I can't wait to see what it'll taste like after a day or two of refrigeration like someone suggested. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe probably relies hevily on the brand of sauce you used and maybe thats why I didn't enjoy as much as others seemed to. Stew's broth came out too syrupy and salty for my taste. Because it is such an easy recipe and everyone else thought so highly of it, I will probably try again with a different brand. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Ridiculously easy and very delicious! I could only find a 14oz can of green sauce, so I substituted 5oz of vegetable broth for the rest since I already had it in the refrigerator. I used two big cloves of garlic since I didn't have any garlic powder, and everything else I did according to the recipe as written. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I live in San Diego so I can be a bit picky about my Mexican food, but this recipe is super easy and tasty. Followed the recipe exactly and turned out perfectly, but lots of room for substitutions/extra veggies if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Really delicious for how fast and easy it is, and it's even better the next day. I'm a meat eater and usually am wishing for meat to add to veggie dishes but I didn't miss a thing with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was pretty good, but even with a few tweaks, I found it was lacking something. I put the chili powder and cumin in a dry pan and started roasting them to really open up the flavor. I tossed in 1/4 of an onion, minced, and instead of garlic powder, 3 cloves of minced garlic. Once that sauteed I added the enchilada sauce (Hatch brand), chicken broth in place of water and 1/2 tsp oregano. Since I was going the non-veg route, I added 5 chicken tenders and simmered them for 15 minutes in the sauce. I removed them, let them cool 5 minutes, shredded them and tossed them in the pot. I didn't have frozen corn, so I used one can, drained and rinsed. I omitted the beans since the soup was already so hearty, even after adding extra broth. Not bad, but a lot like other tortilla soups. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Excellent. I added sour cream to tone down the hot for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I loved that it was hearty, healthy, tasty and EASY. I made a few minor modifications (chicken broth, extra tomatoes, crispy tortilla strips) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Served with popovers and green salad. I will make this easy meal again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is delicious and holds up well to substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I actually started out following the recipe for this one, but of course strayed. I used everything except the chicken substitute, cilantro (ew), and corn tortillas. THEN added two cans of potatoes, diced; a can of black beans; a large can of diced green chiles; a very healthy sprinkle of nutritional yeast; and half a can of refried beans to thicken, a whole can would have been better. I wanted to make just a small amount, but that never happens. I was eating this for a week. Thankfully it was good, especially over tortilla chips with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildomar, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States