Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I added mushrooms and black beans and some smoke seasoning and chipotle pepper! It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Delicious!! I used 2 fresh green peppers and one small red one, and one large onion. Used 4-5 garlic cloves. Used way less chilis and it was hot, but delicious! I added a can of black beans at the end and topped with lime juice and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
We thought this was pretty good. We will probably make it again, but not very frequently. Followed the directions, but substituted some fresh ingredients from our garden rather than use the canned tomatoes and chili peppers. It was spicy, but we like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Hmmm.... I hate to be a downer, but this didn't suit me or my hubs at all (sorry!). My hubs didn't think this was thick enough to stand up to the tortilla chips we garnished our bowls with (his turned to mush). I didn't care for the texture (I guess I don't like mushy veggies) and thought the taste was just so-so. I must say, I never thought to use a stir-fry veggie blend in tortilla soup and that is the very thing that drew me to this recipe to begin with. The fact that you can prep this in under an hour using convenience items was another HUGE factor in my decision to give this a try. NOTE: Birds Eye brand sells a tri-colored bell pepper and onion stir-fry mix. This is the only one I could find and had to scour two stores for it. :) I really wish we enjoyed this enough to add to our regular menu rotation, but it just fell short for us. I'll stick with our favorite chicken tortilla soup instead. Thanks anyways, DSYLVAN. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Never thought to put avocado in my tortilla soup and it was a very welcomed addition! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
the soup is really good. The key is the cumin. I probably added more than three tablespoons. I used two less cans of broth (so that it was heartier). When soup was done I split it into two bowls, added chicken for my husband and tofu for myself. I also added extra corn and black beans, I put a bit of cheese on top and crunched up some tortilla chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carriekdevine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Delicious and easy! A big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was a great recipe. Turned out so good. Will make it again. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have never eaten any version of Tortilla Soup. I made it tonight for my Mom, brother and future sis-in-law. The recipe makes 12 servings, but after all the second helpings, there were only a few small servings left. You have to try this! LOVED the recipe. Mom and I need protein in each meal so I did add rinsed black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChromeCookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
My wife raved about this soup! The cumin and garlic gave it excellent flavor. Next time, I will halve the recipe, this time we (3) had plenty of leftovers that just get better with more time for the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States