Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by ShannonB515
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this recipe last night and absolutely loved it! My boyfriend was full but had seconds because he liked it so much! I altered the recipe only a little bit. I used fresh bell peppers and onions, 3 cloves of garlic (I love garlic!), I used a 42oz. box of vegetable broth and then added a vegetable bouillon cube and 2 cups of water, added 1 can of drained black beans, and we used a Mexican blend cheese mix. Easy recipe and plenty of leftovers for the 2 of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have made this several times now, and it is excellent every single time. I garnish with fresh cilantro and lime along with the cheese and tortilla chips. This is truly one of my favorite meals, and is incredibly easy to make. I am NOT a vegetarian nor am I vegan--this recipe is absolutely wonderful, and if you have a family member who needs to have a meat element, toss in some already-cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was delicious! I halved this recipe because its way too much for just me and my husband and we still had leftovers. Served with tortilla chips and sour cream and it was super yummy! I would go easy on the cumin and green chiles unless you like a lot of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is delicious. I made the following changes. I replaced the can green chiles w one poblano pepper ( roasted & diced). Added one small bag of sweet corn at the end when soup was done. Dash of mexican oregano. 2 cans of black beans rinsed. 1 whole dry ancho chile just threw it in. More garlic than it called for. Diced tomatoes ( Muir Glenn roasted tomatoes) instead of crushed. Cook until ancho chile starts to fall apart. Cooked for abt 45 minutes. Have made this several times. It's one of our favorites. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this soup for a group of eight. It was easy to make and was delicious. Everybody loved it. There was enough for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very, very yummy!! I made it as directed and garnished with avacado, sour cream and shredded mexican blend cheese. Fast, easy, delicious, filling and healthy. This recipe is a home run!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is fantastic and a family favorite. I use a little less cumin than the recipe calls for and it's still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Awesome! Chopped a raw onion and I roasted a red & green pepper instead of using the frozen stir fry mix. Can't wait to try it reheated tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey McClure
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was amazing! My modifications: I used 1/2 large onion, 2 fresh red bell peppers, 2 roasted poblano peppers, and one 14.5 oz can of tomatoes, and used "Better than bouillon" vegetable base, added one can of black beans, and cut corn from 2 ears. My husband and I loved it very much. It is definitely something that I could take to get togethers, etc. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
yuuuup, this is it, folks. great recipe for a filling, healthy, spicy meal. and guess what folks, it comes with kale! that's right folks, you heard right: Kale. yes, if you add Kale to this simple recipe (and super chopped carrots for that matter) you'll make this awesome recipe even healthier and more filling! But wait: there's more! Add a jalapeno and there will be a nice spicy zing to this delicious meal. Order now and you'll receive 14 oz of veggie broth in 1 cube of bullion! Seriously, make this. Its easy to modify and delicious to consume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States