Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Family of 6 (including a vegan) tore this up for dinner! I made the following changes due to what I had: 2 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes (vs large cann of crushed), 2 4 oz cans of chiles (vs 3), 1 tablespoon (vs 3) of cumin, 1 can of black beans & 1 can of corn (added them with the broth/stock), 1 32 oz vegetable stock & 1 32 oz of vegetable broth (only because that is what I had). We poured the soup over the tortilla chips and garnished with shredded Mexican-blend cheese, sour cream, avocadoes & hot sauce. My daughter used vegan equivalent for the cheeses & sour cream. Cilantro would have looked & tasted great, but I didn't have any. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Yum Yum Yummy! I didn't intend to make changes but my pantry wasn't as stocked as I thought. I used Mexican style Diced Tomatoes with Chiles since I was out of diced chiles. I used some frozen green pepper as my fresh green pepper was spoiled when I took it out of the vegetable bin. I used half of bag of frozen corn since I don't care for canned and last but not least, I used 2 TBS of Better than Bouillon Vegetable base instead of the Vegetable broth. Even with all the changes, this was fab-u-lous! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Absolutely DELICIOUS for both vegetarians and non! When I changed my diet to vegetarian, there were a few things I thought I'd miss and one of them is a chicken tortilla soup from this site. NOT anymore! In fact, this is BETTER than the 'other' soup! Don't skip the avocado - the creamy coolness of it in the hot soup is awesome! I too added black beans and made this with fresh onions. This was also very easy to adapt for the slowcooker - throw it all in and cook on low all day! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I didn't find any vegetable stock in my local stores, so I made my own by boiling one stalk of celery with two carrots and any other fresh veggies I had in the frig, adding salt and pepper. It was amazing! Better than the Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla soup I had been making. I have also combined the recipes and again amazing! To accommodate my friends who are Vegan I simply cooked the chicken separately in some enchilada sauce and added it to individual bowls. It's so easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
It was fantastic!! I only used two cans of the green chilies, and used fresh peppers and onions instead of frozen. I also added a can of hominy to make the soup a little heartier! It was absolutely delicious!!! Definitely will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Remember to pour the soup over the top of the tortilla chips - YUM! We served with a dollop of non-fat Greek yogurt to add a bit of protein as well as a creamy consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Good vegetable soup, don't need the tortillas and cheese if you don't have
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
The chile peppers weren't available to me, so I omitted them. Still was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Awesome! This is a great veggie alternative to traditional tortilla soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe is great! I changed a couple of things. I added fresh bell peppers and onion. To replace the crushed tomatoes and green peppers, I added 1 can of rotel. I only put 1 tbsp of cumin, 3 would have been too much. I also added 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States