Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I halved this recipe since I was just making it for three people, but honestly I wish I hadn't! It was one of the rare dishes that we ran out of mid-meal and wanted more! I made alterations though: 1 can of chilies (for a half recipe, rather than 1.5 cans), a 1/2 cup of Nutritional Yeast, 1 extra cup of vegetable broth, half a can of medium enchilada sauce, and 3 - 4 tbsp of balsamic vinegar. It was so good! I plan on making this again very soon (: Oh! And I also threw in some leftover taco fixins to use them up, there was TVP taco filler, refried beans, fresh onions, tomato and cilantro, about 1 cup total. The cilantro added a great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ristia_Amore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great soup. Super delicious and easy to make. I have tried other versions of Tortilla soup and this is by far the best recipe I have tried and ENJOYED...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
did exactly what the recipe said and it was AMAZING. Couldnt stop eating it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
oh my this was HOT! I didn't get the chopped chilli peppers but the whole ones, I chopped up 2 peppers and man it was hot. We don't like spicy so not sure what I'm going to do with this soup. I may add some more water/broth as I didn't use the full amount recommended. If I do this again there will be no chillies added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
DELISH!! I did use fresh vs frozen like others recommended. Also did about 2 tbsp cumin, and 1 tbsp of cayenne and chili powder each. I did the black beans as well, and about a cup of quinoa for some extra protein. It was SO good, esp with the fresh avocado on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this for a soup competition, and won first place in the vegetarian division! I made mine a bit spicier with more cumin and some chili powder, but it's a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This soup is sooooo good and full of flavor. I always get compliments when I make it and this recipe makes a lot so I get a few meals out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this for the first time tonight and it was a great base for tortilla soup. I did make a few modifications starting with reducing the recipe for 3 servings. I used fresh onions and peppers and added some cayenne pepper during the sauté process. I also added a can of rinsed black beans and I used frozen corn instead of canned corn. I did use a little more broth as well. After simmering, I took half of the soup and put it in my vitamix and did a 1/2 blend so it wasn't completely pureed but it was slightly chunky. I then added it back to the pot and mixed well. I topped the soup with Lime juice, cheddar cheese, avocado and a small little dollop of greek yogurt (instead of sour cream). Next time, I will probably add more corn and more cayenne for more of a kick. I can definitely see myself going back to the recipe again and again. It's a quick and easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great for a family that is trying to eat less meat! We could easily have this once every week or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Super good! I added black beans. I didn't think it was too spicy with the peppers. I think it had the perfect amount spice, even on the mild side. Maybe I'll add some red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States