Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I rated this recipe based on the actual recipe given. Overall, with 3 cans of green chiles, we found it WAY too spicy. (And, I love spicy food.) Aside from that, it was good. The 2nd time I made it, I cut the green chiles back to 1 can. I added 1 can of drained and rinsed garbanzo beans (or black beans). Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Nice and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
OMG...seriously did not expect to get this much flavor with just these ingredients. So yummy!!! The flavor definitely comes from the cumin and the canned green chili so cutting back on these also cuts back on the BAM of flavor you'll get, but everyone has a different flavor profile they like. I added 2 cans of the mild green chilies and one of the hot chopped green chilies. I also added some tomatillos...just because I had them and they needed to be used. Added some beans and some chopped kale as well. This makes a LOT of soup but once my family eats it I don't think it's going to last. and it probably freezes well too. Great for a cold winters night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Quite tasty! I used two bell peppers and 2 onions instead of the pepper onion stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
You can also add Beans at the end and Oregano, I also top mine not only with the avocado but also shredded lettuce and diced radishes and Sour Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
So good. Will be making this again for sure. The avocados are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I add black beans and omit the cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci KittyCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I didn't have everything that the recipe called for, but it was a great last-minute dinner even without the full amount of peppers, green chiles and avocado. I would love to try it next time with the right proportions and the additions that some reviewers have made: 2 cans of black beans, some lime juice, cilantro, and maybe some sour cream (and I added about a 1/3 c. beer, which was lovely!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tressa Bailey
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I took frozen I onion and bell pepper mix and sautéed them with 3 tsp garlic. While cooking I put a can of diced tomatoes, rotel and vegetable broth 8th a small crock pot and turned on medium heat. I added a cup of minced onion, celery, peppers and parley to the sautéed onion mix and let that cook. I added an addition 31st of garlic and a can of green chilis. I added the sautéed veggies to the crock pot and cooked for 2 hours. I spooned the some veggies from the crock pot into the food processor and blended. Added back to crock pot and cooked for an additional hour. Took out more veggies into processor with tbsp of flour. Added back to crock pot with half bag of frozen southwest mix of corn, black beans and jalapeños. Delicious! !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tressa Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States