Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Very tasty but calls for a bit much cumin. I think I'll cut that by at least a 3rd next time. It did mellow over the few days I had it in the fridge, but the first serving was a bit YOWZA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Ive made this sevral times, its soo yummy. its also real easy to make, i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this over the weekend and it was great! I had fresh bell peppers and onions, so I used those. I only put in two cans of green chilies and two tbs of cumin and also added two cans of black beans. But I knew I needed to hide the peppers from my kids, so towards the end, before adding the corn and black beans, I scooped out the peppers and a bit of the soup and blended them in the blender with a handful or two of tortilla chips to thicken it a little. I stirred that back into the rest of the soup and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very tasty veggie dish. Used a bag of caldo veggies to add a bit more substance and turned out wonderful. Also added a bit more cayenne for kick (but I really enjoy spicy food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantastapotomus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Great recipe! Added drained black beans, used only 2 cans of chiles and served over brown rice topped with a squeeze of lime and quacamole and it is just like Qdoba's gumbo! Excellent and good protein for vegetarian's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
While this soup was VERY good, it was incredibly spicy. We love very spicy food but this was over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seattlemama

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Everyone in my family loved this. Even my cranky old gradma had to have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopeless2254

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is very good! Don't over cook the peppers/onions at the beginning- I did and I think they would've been better if I hadn't. I didn't do 3 Tbsp cumin- I love cumin, but that seemed to be too much- 2 Tbsp was right for me. I also added a can of drained garbanzo beans- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good recipe! I did make a couple changes. I added one can of rinsed black beans, used only one can of green chilies and two cans of crushed tomatoes. Loved the idea of using frozen pepper and onion stir fry! Took no time to put together....easy and quick meal when pressed for time! Yummy! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This soup will be in my rotation of favorite recipes. It's very simple and tastes fabulous. A few alterations are necessary to make this five stars, however. Like many have mentioned, adding black beans for some protein is delicious and nutritious. I preferred using a fresh red onion and fresh red and yellow bell pepper for a nice splash of color opposed to frozen stir fry package. Reduce the amount of cumin (only 2 tablespoons at the most) and one or 2 more cloves of garlic. When you add the cheese and avocado it is a nice burst of flavor to add some fresh, chopped cilantro as well as fresh squeezed lime juice. A very flavorful and filling dish, everyone enjoyed thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States