Vegetarian Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Hmmm.... I hate to be a downer, but this didn't suit me or my hubs at all (sorry!). My hubs didn't think this was thick enough to stand up to the tortilla chips we garnished our bowls with (his turned to mush). I didn't care for the texture (I guess I don't like mushy veggies) and thought the taste was just so-so. I must say, I never thought to use a stir-fry veggie blend in tortilla soup and that is the very thing that drew me to this recipe to begin with. The fact that you can prep this in under an hour using convenience items was another HUGE factor in my decision to give this a try. NOTE: Birds Eye brand sells a tri-colored bell pepper and onion stir-fry mix. This is the only one I could find and had to scour two stores for it. :) I really wish we enjoyed this enough to add to our regular menu rotation, but it just fell short for us. I'll stick with our favorite chicken tortilla soup instead. Thanks anyways, DSYLVAN. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Never thought to put avocado in my tortilla soup and it was a very welcomed addition! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
the soup is really good. The key is the cumin. I probably added more than three tablespoons. I used two less cans of broth (so that it was heartier). When soup was done I split it into two bowls, added chicken for my husband and tofu for myself. I also added extra corn and black beans, I put a bit of cheese on top and crunched up some tortilla chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carriekdevine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Delicious and easy! A big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was a great recipe. Turned out so good. Will make it again. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Moreno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have never eaten any version of Tortilla Soup. I made it tonight for my Mom, brother and future sis-in-law. The recipe makes 12 servings, but after all the second helpings, there were only a few small servings left. You have to try this! LOVED the recipe. Mom and I need protein in each meal so I did add rinsed black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
My wife raved about this soup! The cumin and garlic gave it excellent flavor. Next time, I will halve the recipe, this time we (3) had plenty of leftovers that just get better with more time for the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I had to make some changes to this as I didn't have all the ingredients but it came out sooo good. I used a whole fresh red pepper, one large onion and cooked them in the garlic. Added the cumin and some black pepper. Then I added 1 can crushed tomatoes, 1 can mexican seasoned tomatoes, 2 cans water with some bullion. I also added 4 dashes of Tapatilo, a can of black beans, and a can of kidney beans. Very easy to add on and make subsitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
My husband and I recently started to eat more vegetarian meals and after running accross this I thought I would give it a try. After loving chicken tortilla soup for years I was not too sure about this one. We loved it! I added black beans, only used 1 TBS of cumin and added a 1 TBS of Ancho Chili spice instead. I used it as a crock pot meal and was able to omit the oil. Also, we added fresh cilantro and lime in addition to the avacado at the end. Already making it for a second time tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I thought it tasted like tomato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States