Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Great, delicious recipe! What a wonderful way to have meatballs again. The only advice I have with it is to make sure the pecans are FINELY ground. I left ours a little big and they added an unnecessarily crunchy quality to them-- but they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This was really good. I selected this recipe today because I have been looking for meaty dishes without soy. I followed the recipe step by step up until the baking. I baked mine longer than what the recipe called for. (my total cooking time was 1 hour) I didnt realize that the balls would firm up a bit more AFTER cooking, so my 'meaty'-balls became a little hard. I dont know, they just seemed too soft at 40 minutes. But even when hard, they were good. My mother enjoyed the flavor of the sauce. Also, I cooked one of the 'meaty'-balls plain(without the sauce)it was wonderful. I ate that one after cooking 40 minutes. I guess that one seemed right(more done) because it was dryer than the ones with the sauce. I will use this recipe when making spagetti from now on. (bake them and then just throw them in the spagetti sauce. Lastly, I dont know who well they freeze, but I'm gonna try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Even the meat eaters love it! Great for a pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is a great recipe. The second time I made it, I rolled the balls smaller than called for, and it really altered the flavor because the sauce ratio was different. I prefer the larger size. I like these so much, I have been caught eating these cold from the refrigerator! ***I have made these numerous times since my original review and I have made an alteration in the recipe. I use 1 1/4 cups dry bread crumbs and 3/4 cup of fresh bread crumbs. I think the texture is better as they aren't quite so firm. They still hold up well in sauces. Great for making subs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
i took these to a new years eve party with my vegetarian friend. she loved them! she especially liked the texture and asked for the recipe. everyone there ate them up, vegetarian or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Town, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I've never found such a good vegetarian recipie and I've been vege for 15 years. This one is definately worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
This recipe was a hit at my twins b-day party with vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. My brother in-law is steak and potatoes guy and self proclaimed "hater of vegetarian" really liked these and even said if he hadn't been told they were vegetarian he would not have known. Thank you so much for a great veggie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Making these meatballs was so easy and quick, and they came out really well. I actually used 3 eggs instead of 4, which was fine. My two meat-eating friends praised their flavor and gave me many compliments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe. My non-vegetarian boyfriend said that they were wonderful. Difficult to tell that they were not meat. They are easy to make and taste divine. Try making these for a party. They will be a hit for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I am always looking for vegetarian recipes to serve my non-vegetarian friends and I made this for my annual Christmas Eve get together.Everyone loved these meatballs and some actually thought I was serving meat on Christmas Eve. I made them Italian style instead of sweet and sour so instead of your sauce I used a good quality Italian marinara sauce. They were excellent and in fact the reason I am commenting so long after the fact is that the original batch I made was for 20 servings and I am making them tonight for just the immediate family so I needed to convert to 4/5 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States