Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Great, delicious recipe! What a wonderful way to have meatballs again. The only advice I have with it is to make sure the pecans are FINELY ground. I left ours a little big and they added an unnecessarily crunchy quality to them-- but they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This was really good. I selected this recipe today because I have been looking for meaty dishes without soy. I followed the recipe step by step up until the baking. I baked mine longer than what the recipe called for. (my total cooking time was 1 hour) I didnt realize that the balls would firm up a bit more AFTER cooking, so my 'meaty'-balls became a little hard. I dont know, they just seemed too soft at 40 minutes. But even when hard, they were good. My mother enjoyed the flavor of the sauce. Also, I cooked one of the 'meaty'-balls plain(without the sauce)it was wonderful. I ate that one after cooking 40 minutes. I guess that one seemed right(more done) because it was dryer than the ones with the sauce. I will use this recipe when making spagetti from now on. (bake them and then just throw them in the spagetti sauce. Lastly, I dont know who well they freeze, but I'm gonna try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
i took these to a new years eve party with my vegetarian friend. she loved them! she especially liked the texture and asked for the recipe. everyone there ate them up, vegetarian or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Town, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I've never found such a good vegetarian recipie and I've been vege for 15 years. This one is definately worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
These were okay. The sage in them makes them taste too much like Turkey stuffing. If I was to make them again I would not use sage, but I would use more italian spices like oregano, thyme, and basil and lost of garlic. They were very easy to make, baked well, but the stuffing taste was something we didn't enjoy too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
This recipe was a hit at my twins b-day party with vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. My brother in-law is steak and potatoes guy and self proclaimed "hater of vegetarian" really liked these and even said if he hadn't been told they were vegetarian he would not have known. Thank you so much for a great veggie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
these were very good and a nice alternative to the soy products that I am often stuck with. I too used more Italian seasoning and oregano-no sage. I had enough left over to use with spaghetti later in the week. My husband- a meat and potatoes man liked them and he really liked the sauce! Thank you for this creative and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Making these meatballs was so easy and quick, and they came out really well. I actually used 3 eggs instead of 4, which was fine. My two meat-eating friends praised their flavor and gave me many compliments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
If I could give this a zero, I would. Everything was so promising.... the meatballs smelled fantastic, the sauce was nice. When I took them out of the oven, however, the outside was alright, but the inside has the consistency of raw dough... Mushy mushy mushy. I thought that maybe more time in the oven would firm them out, but nothing worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is a great recipe. The second time I made it, I rolled the balls smaller than called for, and it really altered the flavor because the sauce ratio was different. I prefer the larger size. I like these so much, I have been caught eating these cold from the refrigerator! ***I have made these numerous times since my original review and I have made an alteration in the recipe. I use 1 1/4 cups dry bread crumbs and 3/4 cup of fresh bread crumbs. I think the texture is better as they aren't quite so firm. They still hold up well in sauces. Great for making subs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States