Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I covered these with 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of the sweet and sour and baked them for the same amount of time to use in vegetarian spaghetti and meatballs! It was perfect! They also freeze great. I just thawed out the leftovers from that meal and threw them into my vegetarian chili and mashed them up. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I used tomato paste instead of ketchup (much healthier). To avoid hard meatballs, don't squeeze them too tight. My last bit of advice is to buy pecan meal from the bulk food store in order to get the pecans the right consistency. It's only available at Christmas time, so buy a bunch and store it in the freezer so it doesn't go rancid. Thanks for a great recipe KIMCA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I knew right off that I couldn't stomach all that fat, so yes, I did alter. My rating is based on the recipe, with changes. Used more onion, added cumin because I like it-a lot! Made a "hot" sweet and sour sauce, adding anaheim chili pepper and seeds. I used only 3 eggs, and 2 Tbsps powdered milk mixed with 2 Tbsps water for the 4th egg. I used 1/3 less fat monteray jack cheese, and light cottage cheese. Lastly, I substituted about 1/2 cup soy granuals for 1 cup of the breadcrumbs. I think I added a little water also, but check consistency and texture first. The balls should be somewhat firmer/denser than meat-type meatballs, but they should still be moist enough to yield under moderate thumb pressure. The balls will lose much of their density/firmness as the fat is cooked off into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I can't believe how good these tasted!! I used fat free cottage cheese and only 1 cup of store bought bread crumbs. (1/2 c. garlic & herb, 1/2 cup plain). My husband loved these too. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I haven't made the sauce yet, but the meatballs themselves are incredible. If I hadn't made them myself I wouldn't have believed they were vegetarian. My husband has been missing meatballs from our meat-eating days, but these should fix the problem. THANK YOU for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These were pretty good, I only used 1 cup of bread crumbs but I think 1 1/2 might be better. Also I didn't crush the nuts to finely which gave them a weird texture but still good. next time I know better. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
The meatballs are excellent. The sauce wasn't anything exceptional, it wasn't bad, but next time I would try it with a different kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Was very excited to try these, but did not care for them. The sage just does not seem to belong. Also with all the italian seasonings, a spaghetti type sauce would be better suited. The texture of the meatballs was great, but would not make again with the sweet and sour sauce which was only okay. Overall too many competing flavors that didn't blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Oh... these are great! I'll certainly be making them again with and without the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made these for my vegetarian daughter last night and she and I both absolutely loved them. She was surprised as she hates pecans. She said she couldn't tell they were in there. The sauce is wonderful and we made sure we got every drop out of the pan when we stored the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States