Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I have tried this recipe on several occasions and everyone loves it including the sauce. Some have not realized that it is not meat. It taste so good and I love it. As a matter of fact I am going to make it again this weekend for a church gathering. It is absolutely delicious. An excellent vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I had my doubts about this recipe, but the meatballs were amazing! I agree that the sauce was a little too sweet for our liking, so we'll probably serve it on the side next time, but this is definitely a keeper. We are going to use this meatball recipe for other dishes. Wonderful and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Our family review: Dad says it was a very flavorful dish with wonderful presentation, My 10 year old says it is a great dish for being meatless, but the sauce was a bit too sweet, My 8 year old said she also felt the sauce was a bit sweet but was a tasty explosion in her mouth. I think the meatballs were fantastic and the sauce sensational. Will surely make this again. Yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Yum! My whole family loved these. The only thing I changed was to use walnuts instead of pecans. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I substituted Peanuts for the Pecans and it was still delicious. Next time I may try making smaller ones, because they were very filling. But my wife and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Yum!!! I am currently working on cutting meat out of my diet, and trying new vegetarian recipes. This one is a keeper! Very tasty and easy to make. I left out the sage, because I didn't have any and they still tasted great. I also cut down on the breadcrumbs, the texture turned out fine. It's very hard to find vegetarian dishes that are satisfying, but this was was filling and yummy. Going to try it with marinara sauce next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was my first attempt at meatballs since becoming a vegetarian 18 months ago, and I was delighted! My non-veg husband enjoyed this as well, although my 5- and 3- year old daughters were less than impressed. We served them over rice, and they made for a filling, delicious meal! I followed some suggestions and made a couple small changes of my own: used eggbeaters in place of eggs, nonfat cottage cheese, chopped the pecans almost to the point of mincing, used half Italian breadcrumbs and half Panko, didn't have sage but added 1/4 tsp cumin. Prepared the sauce as directed, but it seemed oily - may try less oil next time. Baked as directed, 35 minutes at 350, and they came out great. Actually didn't have room in the pan for all the meatballs so I baked 4 separately on a cookie sheet, will try them tomorrow night over spaghetti with marinara. Easy, quick, and yummy - give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Thank you...now I have a recipe to use when my family is craving "meat"! I didn't read all the reviews, but I agree that the breadcrumb amount needs to be cut, but I'll also increase the amount of nuts I use. I used walnuts instead of pecans (good source of omega 3's since we don't eat any meat) and left some chunky to give the meatballs a contrasting crunch. This recipe will go well with any sauce you decide to use with it. Everyone enjoyed it, and I'm glad that we can have meatballs/meatloaf without having to use vegetarian mince. Just a bit of advice to any new veggies out there....the only way these are vegetarian is if you use vegetarian cheddar cheese. (Cheese is made using rennet which comes from a calf's stomach). Cottage cheese is always vegetarian. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is a totally awesome recipe. I made the mistake of letting the mixture set before I made the balls. It still worked but was more difficult. I also used a 9 X 9 pan. It was much more efficient than the 9 X 13. I made it for my mom and a couple of her non vegetarian friends tasted them. Everyone thought they were delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phantomcrz
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The 5 stars are for the acutal meet balls.. then sauce was good... but had a very strong taste which only comlimented the meat balls if there was a small layer, just basically brushed with the sauce, otherwise it was overpowering. Will def make these meat balls again, and perhaps a meat loaf! They do look taste and have the texture of meat... closest I have had to real meat since becoming a vegetarian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States