Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These are delicious - but instead of baking them in the sweet and sour sauce, I just bake them on a cookie sheet, and serve with spaghetti and marinara. I agree with the other reviewers that the amount of bread crumbs can be cut slightly (just add slowly until the texture is such that they can be formed into a ball and keep their shape), and I leave out the pecans to lower the fat content a little. They turn out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
this was SO good. Just don't use the amount of bread crumbs listed. I cut 2 cups to 1 and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I have tried this recipe on several occasions and everyone loves it including the sauce. Some have not realized that it is not meat. It taste so good and I love it. As a matter of fact I am going to make it again this weekend for a church gathering. It is absolutely delicious. An excellent vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I had my doubts about this recipe, but the meatballs were amazing! I agree that the sauce was a little too sweet for our liking, so we'll probably serve it on the side next time, but this is definitely a keeper. We are going to use this meatball recipe for other dishes. Wonderful and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Our family review: Dad says it was a very flavorful dish with wonderful presentation, My 10 year old says it is a great dish for being meatless, but the sauce was a bit too sweet, My 8 year old said she also felt the sauce was a bit sweet but was a tasty explosion in her mouth. I think the meatballs were fantastic and the sauce sensational. Will surely make this again. Yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Yum! My whole family loved these. The only thing I changed was to use walnuts instead of pecans. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I substituted Peanuts for the Pecans and it was still delicious. Next time I may try making smaller ones, because they were very filling. But my wife and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Yum!!! I am currently working on cutting meat out of my diet, and trying new vegetarian recipes. This one is a keeper! Very tasty and easy to make. I left out the sage, because I didn't have any and they still tasted great. I also cut down on the breadcrumbs, the texture turned out fine. It's very hard to find vegetarian dishes that are satisfying, but this was was filling and yummy. Going to try it with marinara sauce next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was my first attempt at meatballs since becoming a vegetarian 18 months ago, and I was delighted! My non-veg husband enjoyed this as well, although my 5- and 3- year old daughters were less than impressed. We served them over rice, and they made for a filling, delicious meal! I followed some suggestions and made a couple small changes of my own: used eggbeaters in place of eggs, nonfat cottage cheese, chopped the pecans almost to the point of mincing, used half Italian breadcrumbs and half Panko, didn't have sage but added 1/4 tsp cumin. Prepared the sauce as directed, but it seemed oily - may try less oil next time. Baked as directed, 35 minutes at 350, and they came out great. Actually didn't have room in the pan for all the meatballs so I baked 4 separately on a cookie sheet, will try them tomorrow night over spaghetti with marinara. Easy, quick, and yummy - give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Thank you...now I have a recipe to use when my family is craving "meat"! I didn't read all the reviews, but I agree that the breadcrumb amount needs to be cut, but I'll also increase the amount of nuts I use. I used walnuts instead of pecans (good source of omega 3's since we don't eat any meat) and left some chunky to give the meatballs a contrasting crunch. This recipe will go well with any sauce you decide to use with it. Everyone enjoyed it, and I'm glad that we can have meatballs/meatloaf without having to use vegetarian mince. Just a bit of advice to any new veggies out there....the only way these are vegetarian is if you use vegetarian cheddar cheese. (Cheese is made using rennet which comes from a calf's stomach). Cottage cheese is always vegetarian. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States