Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
These were incredible! I followed some of the suggestions and made some of my own adjustments and it turned out incredible! First, I decided I wanted to make meatball subs - amazing combination. In making them I added 1/2 cup shredded carrot, 2 shredded cloves of garlic, substituted very finely chopped walnuts instead of the pecans, and made my own breadcrumbs by toasting my bread and spraying olive oil on it and seasoning with oregano and rosemary. The only other adjustment was not intentional - I forgot to add the seasoning in the meatballs, so I just added it to the sauce minus the sage. To prevent having soggy meatballs, which my husband hates, I formed the balls, placed onto a greased pan, and cooked in the oven for 20 minutes or so or until lightly browned and they could hold their shape. I then added the sauce and cooked for the full 40 minutes. DELICIOUS!! MAKE THIS DISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this last night and it turned out great. I made a few modifications. In the “meatballs” I used Ezekiel bread for the crumbs instead of Italian bread crumbs. I added Italian seasoning, and left out the sage. I made more sauce than called for because I wanted to serve it over noodles. I used tomato sauce instead of ketchup, apple cider vinegar instead of white. Added a little brown sugar, garlic powder, and Worcestershire sauce. After 40 minutes of baking, I used the sauce in the pan to baste the meatballs and baked 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Every person who eats these loves them. Carnivores and vegetarians alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These are delicious - but instead of baking them in the sweet and sour sauce, I just bake them on a cookie sheet, and serve with spaghetti and marinara. I agree with the other reviewers that the amount of bread crumbs can be cut slightly (just add slowly until the texture is such that they can be formed into a ball and keep their shape), and I leave out the pecans to lower the fat content a little. They turn out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
this was SO good. Just don't use the amount of bread crumbs listed. I cut 2 cups to 1 and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I have tried this recipe on several occasions and everyone loves it including the sauce. Some have not realized that it is not meat. It taste so good and I love it. As a matter of fact I am going to make it again this weekend for a church gathering. It is absolutely delicious. An excellent vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I had my doubts about this recipe, but the meatballs were amazing! I agree that the sauce was a little too sweet for our liking, so we'll probably serve it on the side next time, but this is definitely a keeper. We are going to use this meatball recipe for other dishes. Wonderful and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Our family review: Dad says it was a very flavorful dish with wonderful presentation, My 10 year old says it is a great dish for being meatless, but the sauce was a bit too sweet, My 8 year old said she also felt the sauce was a bit sweet but was a tasty explosion in her mouth. I think the meatballs were fantastic and the sauce sensational. Will surely make this again. Yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Yum! My whole family loved these. The only thing I changed was to use walnuts instead of pecans. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I substituted Peanuts for the Pecans and it was still delicious. Next time I may try making smaller ones, because they were very filling. But my wife and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States