Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
made these with 1 1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs, 1/4cup oatmeal, 1/4 cup TVP, 1/2 cup black bean flour. deleted cottage cheese. Added fresh flat leaf parsley (handful), 2 garlic cloves, 1/2cup carrots, jar of butternut squash organic babyfood (1/4 cup puree of any other squash or sweet potato would work too), and pulsed in the food processor. I like to slip veggies into everything! I baked without sauce for 10 min on 425, in a greased pan to seal the "meatballs" and then flipped and repeated. I voiced uncovered for 25 min. Covered with tinfoil and cooked another 20 min. They were so moist, delicious and "meaty" The kids even asked for seconds. Made enough for another dinner, lunch, or dare I say a wrap or sandwich! Yum! Thanks for the wonderful idea. I also made the sauce with tomato sauce and brown sugar, skipped the jam (just added more brown sugar to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are in the oven now! I can't wait to try them! I didn't bake them in the sauce, I placed them on a cookie sheet and baked them, then I can freeze them and use in other things. What I did is doubled the recipe, and used 6 eggs total, 2 cups of sharp cheddar and 1 cup of shredded parmesean, 1 1/2 cup of bread crumbs, no sage, and lastly I didn't have pecans, so I toasted almonds and ground in my food processor until fine, and used them instead. Can't wait to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Disclaimer: I did alter the recipe a bit, but I think this gets 5 stars for the base recipe of the meatballs! (I haven't made the sweet and sour sauce yet, but it sounds just like what my mother used to make). I used almonds instead of pecans and oyster crackers instead of bread crumbs. I added cumin and a couple of diced radishes for spice. I also deep-fried them to save time (8 minutes total cooking time). Amazing! They don't really taste much like meat, but they are delicious and will go well with all kinds of dishes depending on how you spice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Nakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I used 1.5c fresh bread crumbs b/c I had them and 0.5c panko and chopped cashews instead of pecans. Nice flavor - I'd make extra sauce next time. It was very tasty and I could see using orange marmalade if you don't have apricot jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Can I give this a 10 star rating? We love these and you could never tell there isn't meat. I do use all lower calorie ingredients like Egg Beaters, reduced fat cheeses, less oil, and sugar free jam and they are still awesome. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Loved by vegetarians and meat eaters alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Absolutely Fabulous! I'm trying to make one vegetarian meal a week....and this was one of the first ones I made. Both my husband and I LOVED it! The nutty flavor was delicious, and the texture was better than expected. This was so easy & great. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photojenny25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious. The texture is nice, they are filling and the flavor combination is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The meatballs came out perfect with great texture! The sauce was nice too although I opted to up the "dash" of hot pepper to make it a little spicier. Next time I might try these with a more traditional red sauce as they would go much better with pasta, but all in all, a fun and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful! I served it with brown rice and salad and the entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States