Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These are ok. The sauce tastes a lot like McDonald's sweet and sour except that there is a strong vinegar and ketchup flavor. Not exactly what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These are delicious! I didn't have pecans, so I used sliced almonds that I pureed in my mini processor. I also ran out of bread crumbs so I subbed in seafood breader and I used hard italian cheese and mozzarella in lieu of the the shredded cheddar. It was delicious! The sauce is savory/sweet and smells heavenly. These would be great with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
EXCELLENT! I think that the key ingredient is abricot jam. It makes sauce more like a fruity ketchup than an asian sauce... so it come along well with the meatball ingredients. The only thing, I found the sauce a bit too sweet. So next time I will put less jam. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These are wonderful! I made them for my grandsons and they loved them too - even the "pickey" eater! I used low fat and fat-free cheeses and it was fine. I didn't have sage, substituted marjoram for oregano. Next time I will try wheat germ or WW bread crumbs if I can find them, or one cup of Italian crumbs as another reviewer suggested. I think these meatless balls would also work well baked in tomato sauce and over pasta, or any sauce and base combo. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These were a hit in our house with a meat-eater who said they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I doubled the'veggie meatballs' (used 2 cups bread crumbs) Beacuse of the reviews. They are great 5+ stars; However the sweet & sour sauce was just okay. Out of 6 people only 2 liked it. I was sure glad I didn't cover them all with the sauce. The sauce needs something- might try adding a little brown sugar & Soy sauce. I will make dipping sauces next time and let everyone play around and find the right combo for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladycharia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are very good. You would not immediately know they don't have any meat in them. I halved the recipe for the balls and the sauce, and it made 15 appetizer sized balls and plenty of sauce to bake them in a little of it and toss them around in it after they were cooked. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did add some more spices ... black pepper, salt and garlic powder. My advice would be to grind up the nuts as fine as you can and mince the onion. I used Italian bread crumbs and did not find any issues with hardness or dryness. Do not hard pack the balls, just loosely roll them into balls with only enough pressure to hold them together. I will make these again, even meat eaters would like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
made these with 1 1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs, 1/4cup oatmeal, 1/4 cup TVP, 1/2 cup black bean flour. deleted cottage cheese. Added fresh flat leaf parsley (handful), 2 garlic cloves, 1/2cup carrots, jar of butternut squash organic babyfood (1/4 cup puree of any other squash or sweet potato would work too), and pulsed in the food processor. I like to slip veggies into everything! I baked without sauce for 10 min on 425, in a greased pan to seal the "meatballs" and then flipped and repeated. I voiced uncovered for 25 min. Covered with tinfoil and cooked another 20 min. They were so moist, delicious and "meaty" The kids even asked for seconds. Made enough for another dinner, lunch, or dare I say a wrap or sandwich! Yum! Thanks for the wonderful idea. I also made the sauce with tomato sauce and brown sugar, skipped the jam (just added more brown sugar to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are in the oven now! I can't wait to try them! I didn't bake them in the sauce, I placed them on a cookie sheet and baked them, then I can freeze them and use in other things. What I did is doubled the recipe, and used 6 eggs total, 2 cups of sharp cheddar and 1 cup of shredded parmesean, 1 1/2 cup of bread crumbs, no sage, and lastly I didn't have pecans, so I toasted almonds and ground in my food processor until fine, and used them instead. Can't wait to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Disclaimer: I did alter the recipe a bit, but I think this gets 5 stars for the base recipe of the meatballs! (I haven't made the sweet and sour sauce yet, but it sounds just like what my mother used to make). I used almonds instead of pecans and oyster crackers instead of bread crumbs. I added cumin and a couple of diced radishes for spice. I also deep-fried them to save time (8 minutes total cooking time). Amazing! They don't really taste much like meat, but they are delicious and will go well with all kinds of dishes depending on how you spice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States