Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time to use for some guests who were vegetarian. It was delicious and was a real hit at the party. Even my omnivorous friends thought it was amazing;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am not a fan of soy meat substitutes. As a vegetarian, if I want something meaty, I usually opt for mushrooms. I got a craving for cocktail meatballs, with cranberry and chili sauce. I used this meatball recipe and was thrilled with the outcome. They hit the spot and my meat-loving husband enjoyed them too. Easy to tailor to your liking. I added italian seasonings as well and used low fat cheddar and low fat cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
These meatballs are very versatile. I make them plain, without any sauce. Then they can be basically a meat substitute for anything. Covered with mushroom gravy, they were my thanksgiving turkey replacement. Warmed with marinara, perfect meatball hoagie. Siracha hot sauce turn them into a spicy appetizer. Love this recipe, a must for vegetarians that don't want to eat the store bought "meat substitute" products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
They turned out fabulously! Used only 1cup of bread crumbs and substituted tomato sauce for ketchup. Couldn't have been tastier. Would make great burgers as well. Can't recommend them enough as they are SO yummy. In fact, I don't normally post reviews but couldn't help myself in this case. Fear not. Just make them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
The meatballs were fairly good, but kind of tasted like seasoned breadcrumbs, even though I halved those. Which might have been okay except for my second issue, which was the sauce. Like others, I tried to cut the ketchup. Honestly, while I totally understand the urge to do so, I wouldn't recommend it: you don't end up with enough sauce. You just don't. Also, the sweetness of the ketchup cuts the vinegar, and you need that if your meatballs are going to be sweet and sour and not just . . . sour. Having said that, this is clearly the result of my modifications to the recipe, and not anything to do with the recipe itself. I think that if I'd followed the instructions on the sauce, the bread-crumb flavor of the meatballs might have been masked a bit. So I'll probably try this recipe again - as written, this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
These are amazing. The ingredients are things I keep in the house anyway. I followed the recipe except that I used fat-free shredded cheddar, fat-free cottage cheese, and one cup of panko bread crumbs(2 cups seemed excessive). I took off one star because when I made the sweet and sour sauce and tasted it, it was a little bland for me, so I added about fourth a cup of brown sugar splenda, and that made a big difference. Oh, and I used sugar-free apricot jam. The baking time was good, and when they cooled a little, I tasted the corner of one of the meatballs, and they taste as good as they look and smell. Served this with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Next I'm going to make the meatballs with brown gravy and then marinara sauce. This is definitely a keeper because I don't always keep ground beef on hand for traditional meatballs and now I don't have to. Thanks KIMCA for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe. Made it twice, working on a third time. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Very good! I used walnuts instead of pecans, a little less oil and a bit more oregano and skipped the sage. Like the texture and flavor! Happy to have this good, new recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My husband really loved these meat balls. He's not really into tofu dishes so this really hit the spot and the sauce adds great flavor. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My husband is always asking me to make this recipe. We've eaten it many times and it's always delicious. I've taken it to parties and can hear people saying how scrumptious it is and wondering what meat it is! When they find out that it's vegetarian, I love the look of complete surprise! The only changes to the recipe that I make are I use mixed nuts, whatever is on hand and I make more sauce, usually one and a half times (or even double) the stated recipe as it's so moreish. I serve the balls with either rice (my personal favourite), pasta or with mashed potatoes and a green veg. We'll be eating this for years to come :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States