Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
There isn’t much food that I dislike but I think sweet and sour sauce just may be one of them. The “meat”balls themselves were very good. I just did not care for the sauce. I used only ½ cup of nuts to try and cut back on the fat content of this recipe. I also used one whole egg and four egg whites instead of the four eggs called for in this recipe. When mixing the ingredients I felt that one cup of bread crumbs was plenty, and I was right. Much more than that and I think they would have turned out hard. I have been using a similar recipe to this for years, however, my recipe does not call for the spices this recipe did. They lend a nice touch. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I am rating this based on the taste of the meatballs only (not the sauce). I made them as directed except I baked them in a dish without any sauce on them. Once they came out, I separated them and put a few in marinara sauce for meatball subs for dinner ("Best Marinara Sauce Yet" recipe on this site) and the rest I am freezing for later. I plan to try the sweet and sour sauce later. The meatballs are so good, though! The only thing I changed is I used low fat cottage cheese and cheddar cheese to cut down on the fat, and I added a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
It was very good. The meat balls were a bit too salty, and the sauce was a bit too sweet. A good start for experimenting with veggie meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This even fooled my husband!! He's a meat & potato guy & my daughter is a vegetarian. He thought I used ground chicken or turkey. Served with stroganoff sauce (no one is a sweet & sour sauce fan). I baked on a greased cookie sheet for about 8-10 min, turning half way through. Suggest adding bread crumbs a little at a time, just enough so you can roll into balls. Plan on making patties for a burger and in spaghetti sauce. Nice change from Tofu & beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Really great if your a vegetarian! I make these just as the recipe says except I leave out the sage. I bake them in the oven with no sauce and then add them to a slow cooker with BBQ sauce and we snack on them all day! So yummy! And they get better as they sit. I've made them several times and never get sick of them. Thanks for sharing this! xo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
one of the best vegetarian meatballs recipes. Should line pan with tin foil and/or add a little more water to sauce. Also should remove meatballs right away as sauce hardens quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I am struggling to be a full fledged vegetarian. I was raised a meat eater but just don't see any reason that an animal should die so that I can survive. Especially with all the wonderful alternatives. I added a little olive oil to this recipe just for texture. It was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I didn't care for these at all. Perhaps that is just the carnivore in me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanderer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
These are awesome! I made them twice in one week. I took them to a Halloween party for a veggie option and they were gone within minutes and then I made a second batch later that week- they reheat really well. One thing I changed was to make the "meatballs" slightly smaller the second time. I had no problems with them being too mushy at all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These are absolutely the best ever. I have only ever made these the "italian" way with red sauce, so i have never made the sweet and sour sauce. but the meatballs are just so delicious. Since getting this in my all recipe email, i must have made them at least half a dozen times. i add all the normal italian spices, use seasoned bread crumbs, whatever nuts i have on hand (they all work fine it seems) and seasoned bread crumbs. i omit the salt because the breadcrumbs are so salty as it is. so great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States