Vegetarian Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
it was great, even my kids said it was good,and that means alot. I cooked it stovetop for 2 hours instead of a pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Perfect combination of spices and herbs! I replaced pasta with 2 medium size patatos though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I wasn't a fan of split pea soup until I found this recipe - this soup is delicious! The chipotle chili powder adds a nice kick. I cook this on the stovetop since I don't have a pressure cooker. I usually puree half the soup once it's finished cooking so it's smooth but still has a little bit of texture. Also, I leave out the orzo because I think the soup is perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
TRY THIS on the stovetop w/out pressure cooker and without soaking! It's easy and tastes better than anything in a can! Skipped the pasta, too. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This soup tasted pretty good, but I would leave the pasta out next time. It was really thick. I pureed most of it and I might puree less of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This soup was good, though a bit spicier than I anticipated since I'd never used the dried chipotle chile pepper (which I found in the spice aisle). I would cut way back on the chipotle if I made it again since my kids wouldn't eat it due to the spicy nature. My husband and I thought it was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALAWIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
this was the first soup i made from scratch and it was delicious! My boyfriend loves it and I do too, I make it in the crock pot turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Very good recipe, I love the chipotle flavoring! I did this a crock pot for about 9 hours, half on high, half on low temp and it turned out great. I stil fryed the vegetables for 5 minutes first and I cooked the orzo seperately and then added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I made this with yellow split peas instead of green since that's what I had. We don't have a pressure cooker so I did it on the stove-top -- the peas cook quickly anyway -- it was ready in about an hour. The changes I made: I sauted the veggies in 2 tblsps of olive oil on med heat until they were a bit soft then added the dried herbs for 2 more minutes. I also used 1/2 chipotle in adobe rather than the dried. It was excellent; definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
My husband and I loved this recipe. We agree with a previous reviewer that this is the best split pea soup we've ever tasted. It is shockingly delicious for so few ingredients. It was very simple to make. I used ground ancho chile pepper because that is what I had, and it worked well. I would like to try the chipotle at some point. I like the orzo in there, but it is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States