Vegetarian Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
OMG!!!! PHENOMENAL!!!!! Made it in the pressure cooker, taking it into work- this is amazing!! Thank you so much for sharing!!! I didn't have chipotle pepper, so used 1/2 t. hickory smoke flavoring and 1/4 t. paprika. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by munsonka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
It's not bad. I kinda like the spicy indian version of this recipe. Check out http://aamircooks.blogspot.com/2009/12/spicy-split-pea-soup.html. No pressure cooker required!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I don't have a pressure cooker, so I left it in my crock pot for a couple hours on low and that worked well, just had to add more liquid. We had it for last night's dinner and I couldn't wait to have leftovers for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Easy recipe to make. Did not have the Chipolte chili seasoning so substituted Chili Powder. It was mild and easy to eat. I will try it again when I get the Chipolte seasoning. I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was an easy recipe I opted to use my slow cooker for this recipe. I presoaked the split peas for about one hour before to help them along, I followed the instructions as they were, and cooked the veggies, after that step I put all the remaining ingredients into my preheated slow cooker. I added an additional cup of vegetable broth and 2 boullion cubes. I liked the heat of the chipotle, but not the smokiness, in the future I would omit that ingredient and add cayenne instead. I cooked the soup for about 6 hours on a high setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I'm always looking for vegetarian recipes. This is good. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I have never liked split pea soup but my husband does so decided to try and doctor it up for me. I used smoked turkey leg for seasoning. Pulled the meat off, added smoked paprika, more garlic, and added a cup of half and half and 3 Tbs. flour for thickening. It was delicious and we both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I wasn't a fan of split pea soup until I found this recipe - this soup is delicious! The chipotle chili powder adds a nice kick. I cook this on the stovetop since I don't have a pressure cooker. I usually puree half the soup once it's finished cooking so it's smooth but still has a little bit of texture. Also, I leave out the orzo because I think the soup is perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Awesome recipe. Very easy and great for a busy mom. I skipped the pasta and substituted with potatoes. I also skipped celery and the broth since I didn't have any on hand. Instead, I put water and some all-purpose seasoning (may be a tbsp). My 10 mths old had this too so I skipped the chile pepper as well. It was still yummy and SO easy to make! Definitely a keeper in our family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Needs more flavor but good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States