Vegetarian Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This sup was delicious. I couldn't find the orzo, s used farfallini instead, and cooked it on the stove top instead of in a pressure cooker. This soup is hearty and healthy, and I will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
mmm. i really love this recipe! i did not use the pasta and subbed two potatoes. I also added a poblano pepper just because I happened to have one. make this one the stove top and the slow simmer will make your mouth water all day as it cooks. I pureed 3/4 of it so it was more creamy with some chunks. Eat with a hunk of rustic bread and a beer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
GREAT soup! You can't mess it up, I know, I tried. I didn't have a pressure cooker so I put it in the CROCK POT on low, which was a mistake. After 1 hour I put it on HIGH, for 1 hour or something like that. I also skipped the orzo, and substituted cauliflower for celery. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great recipe. Because of the kids I omitted the pepper, added 2 bay leaves instead. Sautéed the veggies staight in the pressure cooker, no need to use a separate pan. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Great stuff! I cut the recipe in half the first time...it's just amazing and it's a keeper! It comes out of the pressure cooker with just the right thickness, no need to puree at all. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Majority of reviewers did not use a pressure cooker. Please don't review a pressure cooker recipe, if you are not using a pressure cooker and following the recipe as it is written. It kind of defeats the purpose of reviews. If you changed the recipe, then submit your own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Very good recipe. This is the first time I've ever made split pea soup and will most likely use this recipe again. Like other users, I substituted two medium potatoes for the orzo and I used a slow cooker. Instead of the dried chipotle chile pepper, I used 2 tablespoons of jarred mixed hot peppers, which worked perfectly fine. I cooked mine down too much (overnight, even on "Low," is way too long to leave this in a slow cooker) so I just added some extra broth. It had a stew-like texture when it was all said and done so we served it with a dollup of sour cream, which I'd HIGHLY recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HMClements

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Followed recipe but tasted it and it was too bland. So started adding spices...onion power, garlic salt and powder, cumin, curry...I didn't even measure...just added and tasted until tasted good. Also did not add the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fletcher, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was good, but I felt the pasta took away from the flavor. Next time, I'll skip the pasta and increase the split pea. I also let it simmer in a dutch oven for about 4 hours so it was nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
OMG!!!! PHENOMENAL!!!!! Made it in the pressure cooker, taking it into work- this is amazing!! Thank you so much for sharing!!! I didn't have chipotle pepper, so used 1/2 t. hickory smoke flavoring and 1/4 t. paprika. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by munsonka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States