Vegetarian Southwest One-Pot Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is a big hit with my kiddos. I use caned peas as well but I drain them and the corn but not the tomatoes. I started making it when one of my kids gave up meat for Lent so they like the recipe as is, but generally I add cubed chicken breast and let it cook done before adding the rice and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Engle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
LOVED this yummy, easy recipe. I took everyone's advice and ended up substituting the black-eyed peas for black beans. I also did not add the rice or cheese to the mix and simply put them in each separate bowl. AND, my husband recommended nixing the chili powder and using chopped green chillies instead - great idea! I am not a cook and actually quite despise food prep, and this recipe was easy, tasty, healthy (even bought organic veggies), and a definite winnder for our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I agree with other reviews ... Use canned beans and do not drain liquids. I also added a can of chopped chilies. I found that it was not cooking enough in my slow cooker after two hours so I transferred it to a large pot on the stove. It came out great! I also used more than 1/2 c of cheese ... Gooey and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used one can of black-eye peas, one can of black beans and 32 oz can of tomatoes. Served rice on the side and extra cheese and sour cream. Everyone loved it, even me although I'm not fond of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out great! My 3-year-old, 1-year-old, husband and mother-in-law all ate it enthusiastically! I did take some of the suggestions...after soaking beans for 6 hours, I still added 2 cups of broth and 2 cups of water...it had plenty of liquid this way...maybe could have used a bit less. I also (for my husband mainly, and to use up some freezer items) added some chorizo sausage and let it cook in the crock pot with the other ingredients...on low for 6 hours. This could be a very versatile recipe, adding other vegetables or beans. We ate it with corn bread and it was SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
It was okay. I used canned black eyed peas. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Confession: I didn't read the recipe thoroughly enough. I accidentally started with Black Beans rather than Black eyed peas. By the time I realized, it was too late. I liked the recipe overall but made some changes to it, so here's what I did: Besides using black beans, the only other change I made was that I didn't have green peppers, but I'm sure they would've been delicious! Next time I'll add more onion. I used 1 med. onion and it wasn't enough. I also added about a cup of chicken broth, since so many reviews said it was too dry. Probably not necessary, as mine was slightly soupy, but made reheating easier. Make sure to SOAK the beans and COOK the rice like the recipe calls for. Most of the bad reviewers, it seems, forgot to do this. I cooked this much longer than the recipe called for too-- about 8 hours on low (again, I hadn't thoroughly read the recipe before starting, and I'd planned on a long, slow-cooked meal). This timing was perfect: beans were done, but not mush. It filled my 4 Quart slow cooker practically to the brim. So I didn't fully follow the recipe, but it was very tasty, and I'll likely make again-- next time I'll just read it more thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Needs more flavor. It was alright, but not over the top. I used can black eye peas, and added a couple more cans of mixed pinto/northern beans, just to fill the crockpot up. It needs a different flavor like maybe a dry pack of ranch dressing mix? Don't be afraid of the 1/4 cup chili powder, you will need it, or the flavor would be more bland than it already is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipe really...flopped for me. I'm so sorry but there is something totally missing here. And it is the liquids. I love cooking beans in a slow cooker. But when you have to cook beans for nearly 22 hours, there is something totally wrong with the way a recipe is written. And to start this recipe by extra 12 hours ahead too because of a bean soak. You shouldn't have to go to so much trouble. I started this a bean soak on a Monday night before going to bed about 8. Following morning put everything together about 9am, by 11:30am smelling good, but beans are crunchy. 2pm, same deal, by 4pm, still flustered...by 6pm adding a 28 crushed tomatoes(only to see that the can is mismarked and it's actually tomato sauce) by 8pm adding 2 cups of water and then at 11:30pm adding another 2 cups of water and beans are partly crunchy with some, stightly soft on others. I was at the point of not wanting to get up every couple of hours to check on the status, I went to bed. By 7:30am now Wed morning. The batch looks like mushed chili, still smells good, tastes ok beans are firm but soft....the over all batch isn't that appealing and if I decided to add rice and cheddar, it's going to look like glop. I'm not overally pleased with the outcome because of the shear frustration of the amount of time to get this recipe complete. I went back and looked and talked to others over my frustration and this recipe needs more water to do as the author states. I won't be making this again. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States